Carlos Brathwaite appointed as West Indies T20 skipper

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 04: Carlos Brathwaite of West Indies looks dejected after being dismissed by James Pattinson of Australia during day two of the third Test match between Australia and the West Indies at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 4, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse - CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA – JANUARY 04: Carlos Brathwaite has been appointed as the new captain of the West Indies T20 team. (Photo by Ryan Pierse – CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

After much speculation, the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has announced that it has appointed 27-year old all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite as the new skipper for the West Indies T20 outfit. Brathwaite became a West Indies hero following the conclusion of the 2016 edition of the World T20 where he was instrumental in helping the Windies clinch the final. It is perhaps one of the most talked-about events in recent cricket history where Brathwaite smashed Ben Stokes for four consecutive sixes in the final over of the World T20, a feat that saw the Windies clinch their second World T20 title.

Courtney Browne, the chairman of selectors for the WICB stated that Brathwaite can be a symbol for aspiring cricketers in the Caribbean in the near future. “Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,” said the chairman of selectors, Courtney Browne.


Also Read – India attack with spin while the Aussies attack with pace: Carlos Brathwaite

For Brathwaite, his first captaincy assignment will come in the upcoming T20I series against India. After acquiring the permission and the rights to play at Florida, the Board of Control for Cricket in India confirmed that they would be organizing a bevy of two T20 internationals at Florida. This series will take place at the end of the ongoing Test series. With the CPL also coming to an end, most of the T20I stars within the West Indies will certainly be available for selection. “We are looking forward to a competitive series against India in these matches.” Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Samuel Badree, and Sunil Narine have been named in the squad for the series.

West Indies squad: Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine

Also Read – Carlos Brathwaite reveals his sporting heroes