Fans stand divided over Virender Sehwag tweet for Blind team

cricketing trends Virender Sehwag
Former Cricketer Virender Sehwag. (Photo by Parveen mar/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

The defending champions India successfully retained their title of the blind T20 world champions when they beat their arch-rivals Pakistan in the final at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. The entire nation celebrated their win. Good wishes came in from all corners on the social media for the men in blue. Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag was no different.

Much like everyone else, he also took to Twitter to wish the team for their stupendous achievement. He definitely did not have any intentions of hurting the sentiments of any player or team. However, his tweet, unlike on most occasions, did not go down well with some of his followers. The tweet rather backfired as people perceived it in another way.


In his congratulatory tweet, Virender Sehwag referred to the Indian Blind Team as ‘the other men in blue’. People argued that they are not ‘other’ by any dimension and must not be referred in that way. In his tweet, Sehwag had written, “Congratulations to our #OtherMenInBlue on winning the T20 World Cup for the Blind. They have lit up smiles for a billion people.”

Talking about the match, the final saw Pakistan batting first and putting up a good score of 197/9 on the board. Their charge was led by Badar Munir who scored 57 runs off 37 balls with 8 fours and a six. He had a fifty runs partnership with Muhammad Jamil for the first wicket as the latter scored 24 runs. India, in reply, had a tremendous start to the innings with the openers adding 110 runs for the first wicket.

Also check out- Cricketing trends in Twitter today

Prakash Jayaramaiah and Ajay Kumar Reddy were ruthless on the bowlers and kept the required run rate well under check. Reddy was run out for 43 runs off 31 balls in the 11th over. Ketan Patel who came into bat at number 3 scored 26 runs off 13 balls but was retired hurt at the team’s score of 161/1. Jayaramaiah then took charge of the chase and scored an unbeaten 99 with 15 fours and took India to a victory by 9 wickets with 14 balls to spare. For Pakistan, none of the bowlers could pick up a wicket and Indian Blind team successfully defended their title against the arch rivals.