IPL Winners List | List of IPL Winners & Runners From 2008 to 2020

IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2020

T20 leagues like IPL prove as a great platform for players to showcase their skills at the highest level.

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Indian Premier League has completely changed the dynamics of the cricket game all over the world. It has brought innovative ways for making the game more competitive which has forced all other countries as well in starting their own T20 league. T20 tournaments like IPL pave a great platform for players to showcase their skills at the highest level. Every year, all the participating teams give their best to win the trophy. It brings a great sense of pride for any player to be part of the champion side. In this article, we will be listing out the winners of IPL for each season from the start.

In the inaugural season, Rajasthan Royals became champions as they defeated Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets in the finals. Shane Warne led RR were chasing 164 runs in the match, and they won it on the last ball when they needed to score 1 run off the final ball. MS Dhoni who had led the Indian team to the title in 2007 T20 WC was successful as a captain in the first season of IPL as well taking his team till the final.   

In IPL 2009, it was again an Australian captain in the form of Adam Gilchrist who won the title for his team. Deccan Chargers had set a target of 144 runs against RCB in this game with the help of a half-century from Herschelle Gibbs. RCB could manage only 137/9 in 20 overs thus losing the final by 6 runs. 

Chennai Super Kings won the trophy in two consecutive seasons in 2010 and 2011. They defeated Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore in those years. Dhoni continued his golden touch in 2011 winning both ODI World Cup and IPL title in the same year. 

Gautam Gambhir who is considered among the most successful captains of IPL helped the Kolkata Knight Riders team clinch the title in the 2012 and 2014 season. KKR won both these finals while chasing a high total with Manvinder Bisla and Manish Pandey being the two protagonists respectively.    

Mumbai Indians’ legacy in IPL started back in 2013 when they won their first title by defeating Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the final. They went on to win 4 more trophies after this becoming champions in 2015, 2017, 2019 and most recently in 2020. Rohit Sharma has been their captain in all these successful campaigns making him arguably the best captain in the league history. Mumbai has retained their core squad in all these years which has been a major key to their success.

Sunrisers Hyderabad won their first-ever title in the tournament in 2016 when they cruised over the Bangalore team in the finals. Captain David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar played a vital role in their triumph. Chennai Super Kings made a stylish comeback to IPL after 2 years as they became the champions in the 2018 season. CSK were chasing 180 runs in the final, and they won their third title quite comfortably as opener Shane Watson smashed a glorious century for them.      

IPL winners list

Season Winner Runner-up Margin
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings 3 Wickets
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore 6 Runs
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians 22 Runs
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore 58 Runs
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings 5 Wickets
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 23 Runs
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab 3 Wickets
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 41 Runs
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore 8 Runs
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants 1 Run
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad 8 Wickets
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 1 Run
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals 5 Wickets

* Last updated on 17 Sep,2021