Ronit More and Krishnappa Gowtham set to miss Syed Mushtaq Ali tournamemt

Manish Pandey would be leading the Karnataka team.

Krishnappa Gowtham
Krishnappa Gowtham. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 17.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Karnataka will be without the services of fast bowler Ronit More and off-spinning all-rounder Krishnappa Gowtham for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (T20), which is organised each year by the Board of Control for Cricket in India after the Ranji Trophy ends. More, who picked up 37 wickets in the Ranji Trophy, has been rested, while Gowtham will miss out because of a shoulder injury sustained during the Irani Cup match.

Middle-order batsman K.V. Siddharth is one of the five uncapped T20 players in the 15-member squad along with Rohan Kadam (batsman), V. Koushik (medium pacer), Manoj Bhandage (all-rounder) and Luvnith Sisodia (wicket-keeper). Karnataka will play its matches in Cuttack from February 21. Manish Pandey, who is currently an out of favour India batsman, would be leading the team while Karun Nair will serve as Pandey’s deputy.

“He had an exhausting Ranji Trophy season. He was our leading wicket-taker and he needs rest. We wanted him to take a break which he deserves,” Raghuram Bhat, chairman of selectors of the senior team, was quoted as saying in Deccan Herald when asked about Ronit being rested.

Giving youngsters a chance

“Just like in the Ranji Trophy, we are providing chances for youngsters who have done well. Apart from their regular roles, we have given importance to the fielding skills of these youngsters as that’s an area of great importance in T20s,” Bhatt mentioned.

The tournament will give good game time to those who will be playing the cash-rich and prestigious Indian Premier League next month. Apart from two to three names, everyone in the Karnataka squad has an IPL contract.

The entire team:

Manish Pandey (Capt), Karun Nair (Vice-capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohan Kadam, B.R. Sharath, J. Suchith, Shreyas Gopal, R. Vinay Kumar, Prasidh M.Krishna, A. Mithun, K.C. Cariappa, V. Koushik, K.V. Siddharth, Manoj Bhandage, Luvnith Sisodia.

[interaction id=”5c67c55b78a308ca3008fab7″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on