Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019-20: Round 8 - Review

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019-20: Round 8 – Review

Punjab's thrilling qualification scenario was the talking point of the day.

Rahul Tripathi
Rahul Tripathi . (Photo: IANS)

The first stage of the Mushtaq Ali Trophy came to an end on Monday with Punjab winning a thrilling five-way qualification scenario in Group C. As it turned out, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Baroda, Tamil Nadu, Haryana, Mumbai, Delhi Jharkhand, Maharashtra and Punjab made it to the Super League, which commences on 21st November.

Meghalaya registered a couple of morale-boosting wins in their previous two games, but suffered at the hands of Haryana and signed off in a bad way. Harshal Patel smashed a 40-ball 82 and Rahul Tewatia chipped in with an important contribution as they put 202 runs batting first. Harshal Patel starred with the ball as well, chipping in with figures of 3/22 as Meghalaya got bowled out for 103 runs, handing a 99-run for Haryana.

Puducherry nearly provided a scare for Madhya Pradesh, but the latter found a way through, by the barest of margins. Madhya Pradesh scored 177 runs batting first courtesy a brilliant 84 from Ashutosh Sharma. Former Karnataka captain Vinay Kumar registered figures of 4/30 for Puducherry. Arun Karthik’s knock nearly got Puducherry to the finish line, but they fell short by five runs.

Maharashtra and Punjab played a crucial Group C encounter, which went Maharashtra’s way, but Punjab did just enough to qualify to the next stage. Rahul Tripathi and Azim Kazi scored half-centuries as Maharashtra posted 201 runs batting first. Punjab could only manage 156 runs, but that was enough for them to get the better of Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Hyderabad and Railways to take the second spot in the group.

Brief Scores

Group C

Himachal Pradesh vs Railways

HP: 193/4 in 20 overs (Nitin Sharma 76, Prashant Chopra 47; Harsh Tyagi 1/27)

Railways: 139/9 in 20 overs (Mrunal Devdhar 26; Rishi Dhawan 3/24)

Himachal Pradesh won by 54 runs

Maharashtra vs Punjab

Maharashtra: 201/4 in 20 overs (Azim Kazi 71*, Rahul Tripathi 63*)

Punjab: 156/7 in 20 overs (Mandeep Singh 67; Digvijay Deshmukh 3/34)

Maharashtra won by 55 runs

Group D

Haryana vs Meghalaya

Haryana: 202/6 in 20 overs (Harshal Patel 82; Amiangshu Sen 2/19)

Meghalaya: 103 all out in 19.3 overs (Harshal Patel 3/22)

Haryana won by 99 runs

Madhya Pradesh vs Puducherry

MP: 177/6 in 20 overs (Ashutosh Sharma 84; Vinay Kumar 4/30)

Puducherry: 172/5 in 20 overs (Arun Karthik 60; Rahul Batham 2/24)

Madhya Pradesh won by 5 runs

Assam vs Bengal

Assam: 140/8 in 20 overs

Bengal: 141/2 in 16.5 overs (Vivek Singh 46, Manoj Tiwary 43*)

Bengal won by 8 wickets

Group E

Jammu & Kashmir vs Gujarat

JK: 101 all out in 18.3 overs (Chintan Gaja 4/15)

Gujarat: 104/2 in 13.3 overs (Kshitij Patel 44)

Gujarat won by 8 wickets

Delhi vs Odisha

Delhi: 149/6 in 20 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 35; Abhishek Raut 2/21)

Odisha: 129 all out in 18.1 overs (Suryakant Pradhan 48; Lalit Yadav 3/10)

Odisha won by 20 runs