T10 League 2019: Day 5 – Round-Up

T10 League 2019: Day 5 – Round-Up

Qais Ahmed and George Garton returned with three-wicket hauls on the day.

Team Abu Dhabi
Team Abu Dhabi. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Deccan Gladiators are on a roll at the moment and have registered yet another win in the T10 League 2019. After they were asked to bat first by the Qalandars, the openers provided the team with a great start. While Mohammad Shahzad scored 57 runs from 21 balls, Shane Watson mustered 30 runs from 15 deliveries. Towards the end, Ben Cutting provided the team with the final impetus by scoring 21 from 10 which pushed the score to 128/4.

Even though they lost just two wickets in the chase, this target was well beyond Qalandars’ reach. Dawid Malan remained unbeaten on 49 off 25 balls at the end of the innings while Philip Salt scored 25 runs. However, the team could only get 104 runs on the board and lost by 24 runs.

The Caribbean power was on display in the second game of the day. In this game between the Delhi Bulls and Northern Warriors, the Bulls batted first and toiled hard to get to 110 in their 10 overs. The best effort came from Eoin Morgan who scored 56 runs in half the number of balls. Lendl Simmons took the Warriors off to a great start in the chase with a 12-ball 22. Andre Russell too played aggressively and took just 8 balls to get to 22. Nicholas Pooran was unbeaten on 56 off 25 as his team completed the chase with an over to spare.

The Bangla Tigers put up a big score in the final game of the day. Andre Fletcher, Rilee Rossouw made important contributions. Thus, the team got to 129/3. Despite a half-century from Avishka Fernando, Team Abu Dhabi lost by 27 runs. Luke Wright was the only other batsman to have reached the double figures.

Brief scores of the matches played on Day 5 in the T10 League 2019:

Deccan Gladiators vs Qalandars – 13th Match

DG: 128/4 in 10 overs (Mohammad Shahzad 57, Shane Watson 30, George Garton 3/21)

QLD: 104/2 in 10 overs (Dawid Malan 49*, Philip Salt 25*, Ben Cutting 1/21)

Deccan Gladiators won by 24 runs.

Delhi Bulls vs Northern Warriors – 14th Match

DB: 110/6 in 10 overs (Eoin Morgan 56, Muhammad Usman 13, Chris Green 2/8)

NW: 115/4 in 9 overs (Nicholas Pooran 56*, Andre Russell 22, Dushmantha Chameera 1/19)

Northern Warriors won by 6 wickets.

Bangla Tigers vs Team Abu Dhabi – 15th Match

BT: 129/3 in 10 overs (Rilee Rossouw 44*, Andre Fletcher 42, Ben Laughlin 2/12)

AD: 102/6 in 10 overs (Avishka Fernando 51, Luke Wright 20, Qais Ahmed 3/8)

Bangla Tigers won by 27 runs.