5. Rashid Latif – Pakistan (2003)

Rashid Latif, Pakistan’s former wicketkeeper batter, stepped down as captain ahead of the 2003 tour of South Africa. Latif was at odds with the PCB and the selection committee after writing a letter to the ICC about the match-fixing scandals that were going on at the time.

4. Rashid Khan – Afghanistan (2021)

Following the Taliban takeover of Afghanistan in August 2021, a new board was appointed to assist and support the growth of cricket in Afghanistan. Rashid Khan resigned as captain shortly after the squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 in the UAE was announced.

3. Steve Smith – Rajasthan Royals (2018)

Following the sandpaper gate controversy, Steve Smith also resigned from captaincy duties of Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2018. The Indian Test vice-captain, Ajinkya Rahane, was named as his replacement to captain the Royals in 2018.

2. Steve Smith – Australia (2018)

Back in 2018, former Australian captain, Steve Smith, was embroiled in the sandpaper scandal, which shook the entire cricket world. As a result, he and vice-captain David Warner resigned from their roles immediately, accepting responsibility for the actions and admitting that the team’s leadership group made the plans.

1. Tim Paine – Australia (2021)

On November 19, just before the start of a historic Ashes, Australian skipper Tim Paine resigned from captaincy duties.He addressed the media and broke down in tears while resigning as captain in the “best interests of his team, family, and the entire cricket fraternity.”