5. Shikhar Dhawan- DC

Delhi Capitals have been the perennial underachievers of the IPL since the tournament began back in 2008. From 2013 to 2018, the team failed to qualify for the playoffs even a single time. In fact, they had finished at the bottom of the points table as many as four times.

4. David Warner- SRH

David Warner isn’t the skipper of Sunrisers Hyderabad anymore after being removed midway through the 2021 season. However, the fact that the southpaw changed the fate of the Orange Army after joining them in 2014 can’t be denied by any stretch of the imagination.

3. Gautam Gambhir- KKR

In 2011, he joined the Knights and in the very next year, KKR won their maiden IPL, beating Chennai Super Kings in the final at the renowned MA Chidambaram Stadium. In 2014, the Knight Riders won their second IPL trophy as they defeated Kings XI Punjab, now Punjab Kings, in the final.

2. Rohit Sharma- MI

Mumbai Indians didn’t win an IPL trophy for the first four seasons despite having the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Sanath Jayasuriya and Lasith Malinga in their ranks. However, in 2013, they made Rohit Sharma the captain, replacing Ricky Ponting and from there on, their form shifted.

1. AB de Villiers- RCB

AB de Villiers started his IPL journey for the Delhi Daredevils, now Capitals, and even notched a century for them. However, the Delhi-based franchise decided to let him go after three seasons. Thereafter, the Royal Challengers Bangalore roped him in for INR 5 crores.