11. Mohammed Siraj

Mohammed Siraj is a right-arm-fast-medium bowler who can bowl at a consistent pace. He debuted for the Indian T20I side in 2017 against New Zealand and has just played three matches, grabbing three wickets with an extremely expensive economy of 12.33.

10. Yuzvendra Chahal

Yuzvendra Chahal is a right-arm leggie whose googlies are very effective in the shortest format of the game. He debuted in 2016 and since then, he has been India’s go-to spinner.

9. Deepak Chahar

Deepak Chahar is a medium-fast bowler who can swing the ball effectively and has the ability to take early wickets in the powerplay. Chahar is also a handy batter who could hit some runs while batting in the lower order.

8. Ravichandran Ashwin

The year 2021 has been a memorable one for the veteran player Ravi Ashwin, as he got his first chance in four years to represent the blues in the limited-overs format. He was included in the T20 World Cup squad this year for his valuable experience in the format.

7. Axar Patel

 This orthodox-spinner is a well-known name in the IPL but was not provided a chance, as there was a better all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja. But now, as his ally Jadeja has been rested for this series, Axar might get a chance to play in the eleven considering his decent performance in the IPL.

6. Venkatesh Iyer

He scored 370 runs with a strike rate of 128.47 in the IPL. He emerged as one of the best finds of the tournament. With Hardik being axed/rested, Iyer could be the apt replacement for him.

5.  Rishabh Pant

He didn’t get much of a chance to bat in the T20 World Cup except against Pakistan (where he scored 39 runs) and New Zealand. It is also to be noted that, he was in good touch in the IPL as well prior to the T20 WC.

4. Shreyas Iyer

This 26-year-old was selected as a reserve player in the T20 World Cup 2021. In his 28 T20I matches, Iyer has scored 550 runs with a strike rate of 133.82.

3. Suryakumar Yadav

Surya has the special ability to anchor the inning due to his aggressive and innovative batting. He has the capability to hit all around the ground. His longing urge to represent the country has been evident through his consistent performances.

2.KL Rahul

KL Rahul has now been given the responsibility as a vice-captain. His contributions to the team in recent years across all the formats have been thumping. Once he gets into his rhythm, his majestic batting could be admired forever without any doubts.

1. Rohit Sharma (C)

Rohit Sharma, fondly known as the ‘Hitman’, is the new captain of the Indian T20I side. After Virat resigned from T20I captaincy, the first choice without any thoughts, was the 34-year-old former vice-captain.