2021: David Warner – Kane Williamson

The change in the leadership role did not affect the result as SRH finished the season at the bottom of the table. Warner was seen cheering for SRH from the stands, which showed how much he loved the franchise. He was not retained by SRH before the 2022 IPL mega auction.

2020: Dinesh Karthik – Eoin Morgan

In the middle of IPL 2020, KKR were doing pretty well, having won four of their first seven games but Karthik was not scoring runs. He then decided to step down as the captain and KKR had a World Cup-winning captain in the form of Eoin Morgan in their squad. So, Morgan was the automatic choice to lead the franchise.

2019: Ajinkya Rahane – Steve Smith

Even after the change in captaincy, Rajasthan finished at the second-last position in the points table, winning only five of their 14 league matches. Smith captained the Royals for one more season before Sanju Samson was made RR’s captain. Smith went unsold in the IPL 2022 mega auction and he is not a part of the ongoing season of IPL.

2018: Gautam Gambhir – Shreyas Iyer

Under Iyer, Delhi won four of the next eight games. They could not qualify for the playoffs but Iyer captained the team for two more seasons. Iyer got injured before IPL 2021 and Rishabh Pant was named as the captain. Iyer went to the IPL 2022 mega auction and KKR bought him and named him as their new skipper.

2016: David Miller – Murali Vijay

The team was not doing well in 2016, and the captain David Miller was also not in good touch. He scored just 76 runs in the first six innings. The management decided to give the responsibility of captaincy on the shoulders of Murali Vijay, who was in good batting form in that season and was looking confident.

2015: Shane Watson – Steve Smith

The RR management finally decided to go with Steven Smith. Smith did well as the captain of the Jaipur-based franchise and took the team to the playoffs. They could not reach the finals but they got a great captain in the form of Smith who served the franchise as a captain for a long time.

2014: Shikhar Dhawan – Darren Sammy

In IPL 2014, SRH won two games out of their first four, and Dhawan was struggling with the bat. He realized that the workload of captaincy was affecting his batting and he decided to step down. Darren Sammy, who was the skipper of the West Indies limited-overs side back then, was appointed as the new skipper of the team.

2013: Angelo Mathews – Aaron Finch

In 2013 the team had a pathetic start, winning just a single match in their first five games. Angelo Mathews was captaining the franchise at that moment. After regular failures, Mathews decided to step down and the Pune management named Aaron Finch as their new captain.

2013: Ricky Ponting – Rohit Sharma

Ricky Ponting started as MI’s captain in 2013 season but things did not go his way. MI lost four of their first five games of the season and were struggling with their form. Ricky Ponting decided to step down from captaincy and MI named Rohit Sharma as their skipper.

2012: Kumar Sangakkara – Cameron White

In IPL 2012, Kumar Sangakkara was captaining the franchise and they lost their five games on the trot. Rain abandoned their sixth game and they were yet to win a match after playing six games. Skipper Sangakkara even dropped himself from the playing XI.

2012: Daniel Vettori – Virat Kohli

The team did partially well under him in the remaining games, finishing at number five on the points table. Kohli was then named the full-time captain of RCB in 2013 and he continued to captain the team for eight more years. His tenure as a captain did not see as many highs as the lows. 

2009: Kevin Pietersen – Anil Kumble

IPL is the toughest cricket tournament all over the world. The challenges and the hustle that captaining a franchise give an individual is not an easy thing to play with. RCB lost four of the first five games under the leadership of Pietersen. The team owner of RCB then Vijay Mallya could not keep his patience and he removed Pietersen from the captaincy.

2008: VVS Laxman – Adam Gilchrist

Shahid Afridi said in an interview that Laxman’s persona did not match T20 cricket. At one time in that season, the management was bound to take a call for their change in captaincy. The flamboyant Australian southpaw Adam Gilchrist was named the skipper of the Chargers in the middle of the season and the team won the IPL title in the following season under his captaincy.