9. Sunil Narine

Over the years, Sunil has played 134 IPL games so far. With 143 wickets to his name, he is arguably KKR’s greatest performer. His economy rate of 6.74 showcases his effectiveness as a bowler.Adding on, he has a batting strike rate of 161.69.

8. Andre Russell

Given the fact that West Indies were a dominant force in the past decade, Andre Russell was one of the players who could contribute in every department. Hence, he has been one of the most valuable players for the squad.

7. Axar Patel

Axar Patel has been silently growing as a cricketer over the years. There is no doubt that he is the secondary left-handed all-rounder after Jadeja in the national team, but in the domestic tournaments, he has been excellent. This made Delhi retain an all-rounder like Axar.

6. Jasprit Bumrah

It was a young Jasprit Bumrah with an unorthodox action who dismissed Virat Kohli at Chinnaswamy during the 2013 season of the IPL. After three years, he made it to the national team as India faced Australia in 2016. Since then, he has not seen back, and now, he is the most lethal bowler in the world.

5. MS Dhoni

The only reason Dhoni has been retained is because of his ability to influence and guide youngsters. Given the fact that he has been retained over Faf and Bravo, he has to prove his worth. The fans will be wishing that he finds his form at least for the last time.

4. Rohit Sharma

Just like Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma’s retention was way too predictable. The Mumbai-based captain is the most successful player in the history of the tournament. He has made Mumbai the most successful franchise in the history of this format.

3. Rishabh Pant

Since last year, everything Rishabh Pant has touched has turned into gold. Just when he was about to be dropped, he contributed heavily Down Under and later on, was made the captain of Delhi Capitals. A strong performance as a captain has enabled him to be retained by the franchise.

2. Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja has been the most valuable player for the national side since 2019. It has been an inspirational transformation from a laughing stock in 2009 to an MVP status in 2021. In the retention policy, he was the first player to be retained by CSK.

1. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has been an integral member of the RCB since 2008. He was roped in as a teenager and now, is the highest run-scorer in the history of the tournament. With three retentions for RCB, he will be vital to create an impact along with the new captain of the squad.