World Cup 2015 Group A Match 22 England v Sri Lanka preview

World Cup 2015 Group A Match 22 England v Sri Lanka preview

World Cup 2015 Group A Match 22 England v Sri Lanka preview:

Date:1 March 2015        Time:0330 IST
Venue: Wellington

This is a big match for England who have just 1 win from their matches so far. Their batting clicked against Scotland with Moeen Ali making a century and Ian Bell contributing with a half century. Their only concern is the batting of Captain Eoin Morgan and their non-commitment to play Alex Hales. Only if out of form Joe Root also clicks, they will definitely eye a no.3 position in the group table.

Their bowlers though are having a good time with Anderson and Broad being the chief wreckers against opposition. Their support system Moeen Ali, Steven Finn and Ravi Bopara are doing good, but they would want more from Joe Root as a second spinner.
Against Sri Lanka, they would be cautious as they had lost the series to them both in England and in Sri Lanka and know that Sri Lanka knows their weaknesses and strengths thoroughly. But the pitch at Wellington will help Anderson, Broad swing the ball if they bowl first. They do have a inform Dilshan and Sangakkara to deal with and Jayawardene and Perera follows the opening pair.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka on the other hand are on a high with their win over Bangladesh. Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene have had good knocks under their belt and have ample support of Thirimanne, Mathews and Thisara Perera down the order.

Their concern is the bowlers who apart from Malinga and Herath have showed glimpses of form. Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Kulasekara need to come forth to give more support to Malinga, Herath and Perera.

They have done well against England in the last year and have their finger on their nerve. But they have to be wary of a resurgent English team who have tasted win and would like to continue that form.

Last 5 ODIs:
Eng: W L L W L

Possible playing XI:
England : Moeen Ali, Ian Bell, James Root, James Taylor, Eoin Morgan (C), Jos Buttler (WK), Ravi Bopara, Chris Woakes, Steven Finn, Stuart Board, James Anderson

Sri Lanka : Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Upul Tharanga ,Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath.