BCCI mulling over introduction of Player of the Match and Series awards at junior level

A final decision is anticipated at the BCCI's apex council meeting on June 18.

By Rathnam Nayak

Updated - 17 Jun 2024, 20:01 IST

View : 130
2 Min Read

The Vijay Merchant Trophy (Under-16), the Cooch Behar Trophy (U-19) and the CK Nayudu Trophy
(U-23) tournaments for men and the U-15, U-19 and U-23 events for women comprise the catalogue of age-group tournaments conducted by the BCCI annually.

Following a swarm of revisions to the framework of senior Indian domestic cricket, set to take effect from the upcoming season, a notable development has emerged regarding junior tournaments as the BCCI is likely to introduce Player of the Match and Player of the Series awards across all junior tournaments, starting from the 2024-25 domestic season, as per a TOI report. A final decision is expected at the BCCI's apex council meeting on June 18, based on the agenda shared with the members, as disclosed by BCCI secretary Jay Shah.

Also Read: Watch: BCCI Secretary Jay Shah meets NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell

Meanwhile, demonstrating flexibility towards players who previously held foreign passports but have since surrendered them in favor of an Indian passport, the BCCI is contemplating to offer "temporary authorisation" for such individuals to participate in domestic cricket.

The apex council will receive a briefing on the upcoming National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru slated for a potential launch in August, along with an update on the North East Development Project. Additionally, the meeting will finalise all modifications to domestic cricket recommended by the special committee led by India head coach Rahul Dravid and chief selector Ajit Agarkar.

Also Read: Jay Shah lays foundation stone for BCCI's state-of-the-art indoor training facilities in North East

Shah had announced the inauguration of a cutting-edge indoor facility in the north-eastern states of India on May 20, emphasising BCCI's commitment to elevate the standard of cricket in the region, particularly focusing on six states (Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Sikkim) which have not seen as much cricket development as the other states like Assam, Bengal and Jharkhand, from the eastern corridor. 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:

Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store