2017 ICC Awards: Virat Kohli Named Captain of ICC ODI Team of the Year | CricTracker.com

2017 ICC Awards: Virat Kohli named captain of Men’s ODI Team of the Year

The list boasts of some of the best entertainers of the modern day cricket.

Virat Kohli Most Runs in ODIs | CricTracker.com
Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The much awaited ICC Awards for the calendar year 2017 were announced on January 18, 2018. The Indian captain, Virat Kohli, bagged all the top honors in the prestigious event. Apart from taking up the individual honors like the Cricketer of the Year award, Kohli was also named as the captain of the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year.

The list boasts of some of the best entertainers of the modern day cricket. Needless to concede, they were all top performers in the calendar year of 2017. In at the top is Australia’s David Warner as the opener along with hard-hitting Indian opener Rohit Sharma. Warner averaged 67.80 for his 1424 runs in the year and raked up 6 centuries.

All the data that the ICC took into consideration whilst naming the Team of the Year was from the period running between 21 September 2016 and 31 December 2017. While Warner was in sublime form in 2017, Rohit Sharma had the time of his life in the year. He notched up his third ODI double ton in December last year. He also hit 6 centuries and as many number of fifties in the year.

Virat Kohli was named as the captain of the side as he averaged 82.63 with the bat in 31 ODI matches. He amassed 1818 runs with 7 tons and 9 fifties. Pakistan’s rising star Babar Azam also got a mention for registering 7 ODI tons in the year 2017. He averaged 77 with the bat for his 1232 runs in the year. He scored 26 per cent of Pakistan’s runs in 2017, the highest proportion of any player to his country’s overall tally.

At number 5 is AB de Villiers from South Africa. ABD, two-time winner of the ICC’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award, scored his career best 176 against Bangladesh in October last year. His teammate Quinton de Kock slots in at number 6 as the wicketkeeper of the team.

English all-rounder Ben Stokes takes the role of the all-rounder in the list with 764 runs to his name in 18 matches and 16 wickets to go along with it. His three centuries included a career-high 102 not out against Australia in the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.

Among the bowlers, Trent boult bagged the spot along with Pakistan’s Hasan Ali. The two pacers were highly impressive in the year of 2017. While Boult registered his best figures of 7/34 against the Windies last year, Hasan Ali also bagged 3 five-wicket hauls in 2017.

Another pacer who made it to the list was India’s Jasprit Bumrah. Bumrah bagged 45 wickets in 27 matches in the period of contention. The only spinner to feature in the list is Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan. His figures of 7/18 against West Indies last June were the fourth-best in the history of ODI cricket. He bagged 50 wickets in just 19 matches at an impressive average of 11.20.

Here is the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year:

David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

Catch more developments on this and top leading cricket news on CricTracker.