Highest Score in IPL | Highest team totals in IPL History

IPL 2021: 5 Highest Team Scores in IPL History

Indian Premier League over the years has produced several high-scoring matches.

Murali Vijay
Murali Vijay. (Photo: IANS)

Indian Premier League over the years has produced several high-scoring matches. The pitches in India have the ability to assist batsmen and sometimes favour them a lot more than the bowlers. It adds to the fact that the best power hitters in cricket are more often than not found in the IPL, playing for different franchises. 

The second leg of IPL 2021 is set to get underway on September 19 and the fans are already looking forward to the big-hitters coming to the party. Considering the kinds of scores we have seen in the previous season, we can expect a few more 200+ scores with batsmen getting hundreds or even 150. As the season resumption is around the corner, it is a great time to look back at the highest team totals of all-time in the cash-rich league. Here we look at-

5 Highest Team Scores in IPL History

5. Chennai Super Kings (240 for 5) vs KXIP (now PBKS), 2008

Michael Hussey
Michael Hussey. (Photo Source: Twitter)

For this one, we have to go way back to the first edition of the IPL. After the opening night in Bangalore, where Brendon McCullum smashed 158 not out, the action shifted to Mohali where Chennai Super Kings took on Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings). Chennai won the toss and elected to bat first and got a considerably good start. 

But, it was Michael Hussey, batting at no.3, who turned the match completely on its head. He smashed the second hundred of the IPL only in its second match ever. His knock of 116 runs off just 54 balls which consisted of eight fours and nine sixes. The quick cameos by Suresh Raina (32 runs off 13 balls) and S Badrinath (31 runs off 14 balls) further solidified CSK’s position in the match. 

In all true sense, there weren’t too many bad deliveries but it was batting of the highest class which took CSK’s total to 240 for 5. This score also held the record for the highest score for two years, before CSK themselves broke it. Fiery fifties from Kumar Sangakkara (54 runs off 33 balls) and James Hopes (71 runs off 33 balls) weren’t enough as Punjab fell short by 33 runs.