Aakash Chopra names Lasith Malinga skipper in his T20I XI of the decade; picks 3 Indians

Aakash Chopra names Lasith Malinga skipper in his T20I XI of the decade; picks 3 Indians

No player from Pakistan in Chopra's T20I XI of the decade.

Aakash Chopra
Aakash Chopra. (Photo Source: Facebook)

T20 format brought a revolutionary and a welcome change in cricket over the last 10 years. The format was new for many in the previous decade but it has become a fan favourite now and the T20 leagues of almost every cricketing nation has kept the flag high of the format. Three T20 World Cups took place during this period as well in 2012, 2014 and 2016 with Sri Lanka and West Indies laying their hands on the trophy.

And Aakash Chopra has now come up with a T20I XI of the decade purely based on the stats. Only numbers at the international level are considered as he has named Sri Lanka legend Lasith Malinga as the captain of the team. Rohit Sharma and Aaron Finch have been picked as the openers of the team thanks to their fantastic record at the top of the order in the shortest format.

Though Jos Buttler has done a brilliant job as an opener in T20Is, Aakash Chopra has given him the responsibility to finish the innings at number five. Virat Kohli and Shakib Al Hasan will bat at crucial middle-order positions as well.

Aakash Chopra has total seven bowlers in his line-up

A team should have a lot of bowling options in the T20 format and for the same reason, the former Indian cricketer has picked up a total of seven bowlers in his line-up. Apart from Shakib, he has gone with Kieron Pollard and Glenn Maxwell too who can roll their arm if needed. They can go berserk with the bat whenever needed while batting at six and seven respectively.

Rashid Khan is the lone specialist spinner who can also tonk the ball when it comes to his batting. Apart from Malinga, the other two pacers in Aakash Chopra’s T20I XI of the decade are Jasprit Bumrah and Mitchell Starc. The trio of pacers is hard to face at the death and upfront with the new ball as well and the team looks pretty intimadating.

Aakash Chopra’s T20I XI of the decade: Rohit Sharma, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, Shakib Al Hasan, Jos Buttler (WK), Kieron Pollard, Glenn Maxwell, Rashid Khan, Lasith Malinga (C), Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell Starc.