Aakash Chopra picks his Rajasthan Royals all-time XI

Aakash Chopra picks his Rajasthan Royals all-time XI

Warne to lead the XI.

Shane Warne IPL
Shane Warne. (Photo Source: CHRIS RATCLIFFE/AFP/Getty Images)

The 13th season of the Indian Premier League is slated to get in action from September 19 and will take across cities of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah. All the teams have landed in UAE and are undergoing mandatory quarantine of six days before hitting the ground. A lot of speculations keep hovering the playing X1 of the teams now and then to make it the best one. Amid this, great commentator Aakash Chopra has chosen his all-time Rajasthan Royals XI.

After a lot of analysis and planning, Chopra has spilled beans over his all-time XI from the Royals. The major shocker about it is, Australian legend Steve Smith and amazing all-rounder Ben Stokes have failed to find the spot in his dream team. While telling about this is his YouTube channel, the former cricketer spoke that he will be sticking to the rule of only four foreign players in the team. He also stated that star performers for RR have always been overseas players so, Indians struggle to make their place in the same-

“Over the years RR’s performers have always been overseas players, whether it is batsmen, bowlers or all-rounders. You can only see a handful of Indian players. I am starting with Ajinkya Rahane along with Shane Watson, who is now playing for Chennai Super Kings while Rahane is with Delhi. But I have to keep them in the all-time Rajasthan team.”

After choosing his best two openers, he moved forward, and chose Jos Buttler for no.3 and said he will be great as wicket-keeper too. Chopra pointed out that the presence of all-rounders in the team has been giving it a great boost over the years.

Moving for the 4th slot, Sanju Samson was chosen by him over the likes of Smith because only two spots for oversees players remain now. Rahul Tripathi came as his best no-5 and went on to choose Yusuf Pathan for the 6th slot.

Shane Warne will be the skipper in Chopra’s all-time XI from RR

“I have made Shane Warne the captain of this team. He had done a very good job as a captain and bowler in the initial years that he had played.”

Excellent fielder Ravindra Jadeja has found a place at the 7th position. Filling his bowlers spots, the former opener chose Siddharth Trivedi, Munaf Patel as the best fit. The 10th slot was occupied by England great Jofra Archer.

Aakash Chopra’s RR all-time XI:

Shane Watson, Ajinkya Rahane, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, SiddharthTrivedi, Munaf Patel, Jofra Archer, Shane Warne (C)