Aaron Finch ruled out of match against Board President’s XI

I've just come from training and I'm still sweating: Faulkner on Chennai weather

Aaron Finch
Aaron Finch in Chennai. (Photo Source: Instagram)

Australian opener Aaron Finch is scheduled to miss out in the upcoming 50-over game against Board President’s XI due to a calf injury. However, there is no doubt about him featuring in the series opener starting next week in Chennai. The Australian management has taken a conservative approach by resting him for their only warm-up game of the tour.

The other player apart from Aaron Finch who might miss out of the game on Tuesday would be all-rounder Hilton Cartright. A call would be taken on his availability in the morning based on the magnitude of illness. The conditions at Chepauk Stadium, Chennai would test the Australians with temperatures at low 30s but humidity up to 80%.


“It’s tough conditions here … I’ve just come from training and I’m still sweating. We’re eagar to get out there (on Tuesday) and it’s going to be a good series. We have to acclimatise to the conditions. I’m looking forward to getting out there in the heat, playing well, bowling some variations and getting through the game with a solid performance,” claimed Australia’s limited over specialist, James Faulkner according to

The match on Tuesday would not be an official List A match with both teams allowed to play with as many as 14 players. Steve Smith would face the likes of Rahul Tripathi, Mayank Aggarwal, and Washington Sundar who were part of Rising Pune Supergiant’s campaign this season of the IPL. Sandeep Sharma and captain Gurkeerat Mann would face off against their Kings XI Punjab captain Glenn Maxwell.

Australia squad:

Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright (subject to fitness), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch (injured), Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Board President’s XI squad:

Gurkeerat Mann (c), Rahul Tripathi, Mayank Agarwal, Shivam Chaudhary, Washington Sundar, Nitish Rana, Govind Poddar, Shreevats Goswami, Rahil Shah, Ashkay Karnewar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Kushang Patel, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma