Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021: Day 10 – Round-Up

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021: Day 10 – Round-Up

Northern Warriors clinched the title for the second time in the history of the league, defeating Delhi Bulls by 8 wickets in the final.

Northern Warriors
Northern Warriors. (Photo Source: Abu Dhabi T10)

The Northern Warriors clinched the 4th edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League, by defeating the Delhi Bulls in the titular clash by 8 wickets. It was a rather underwhelming face-off, in a league that witnessed a number of high-scoring affairs, as the Bulls could only muster 81 at the loss of nine wickets after they were asked to bat. Some effective, tactical bowling combined with the Bulls’ haphazard approach meant that there was barely a moment when they looked settled to post a score of substance.

No more than three of their batsmen – Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Evin Lewis, and Mohammad Nabi – could reach double digits, as the Warriors struck with unfailing consistency. While off-spinner Maheesh Theekshana returned three wickets for 14 in his two overs, Junaid Siddique and Dhananjaya Lakshan bagged a couple each. Solitary scalps for Rayad Emrit and Fabien Allen meant that no bowler went wicket-less, as they restricted the Bulls to a paltry 81.

A 22-ball 27 from Waseem Muhammad before Rovman Powell (16 of 8) and Lendl Simmons’ (14 off 12) effort led the Warriors to hunt down the target at the loss of two wickets in 8.2 overs. Earlier in the day, Team Abu Dhabi handed a 21-run defeat to the Qalandars in the battle for the third spot.

A spectacular 16-ball 45, including five boundaries and two sixes, from Najibullah Zadran apart from a 9-ball 26 from Paul Stirling guided Team Abu Dhabi to 124/6 even as Mohammad Zahid bowled impressively and claimed two wickets giving away only 10 runs. In response, Daniel Bell-Drummond, who slammed five fours and three sixes in his 19-ball 46, fought alone in the absence of any able support.

Both Ben Dunk (13 from 8) and Sohail Akhtar (17 from 14) warmed up a bit, however, Rohan Mustafa and Jamie Overton proved too good for them. Samit Patel, who leaked 46 from his two overs, perished to Mustafa for a two-ball duck. The Qalandars could manage only 103/5 after their 10, falling short by 21 runs to finish fourth.

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021, Brief scores, Day 10

Team Abu Dhabi vs Qalandars – 3rd Place Play-off

TAD:  124/6 (10 overs) – Najibullah Zadran (45 from 16), Paul Stirling (26 from 9); Mohammad Zahid 2/10, Sohail Tanvir 1/12, Khurshid Anwar 1/12

QAL: 103/5 (10 overs) – Daniel Bell-Drummond (46 from 19), Sohail Akhtar (17 from 14), Ben Dunk (13 from 8); Rohan Mustafa 2/19, Jamie Overton 1/19

Result: Abu Dhabi won by 21 runs.

Northern Warriors vs Delhi Bulls – Final

NW: 81/9 (10 overs) – Mohammad Nabi (21 from 10); Maheesh Theekshana 3/14, Dhananjaya Lkshan 2/14, Junaid Siddique 2/19

DB: 85/2 (8.2 overs) – Waseem Muhammad (27 from 22), Rovman Powell (16 of 8) Lendl Simmons (14 off 12); Fidel Edwards, 1/18, Shiraz Ahmed 1/18

Result: Northern Warriors won by 8 wickets.