Afghanistan announce 17-member squad for Asia Cup 2022

All-rounder Samiullah Shinwari returns, two years after last appearing for the team.

View : 498

2 Min Read

Afghanistan cricket team
Afghanistan cricket team. (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

Afghanistan announced their 17-member squad for the 2022 Asia Cup on August 16, Tuesday. The 15th edition of the tournament is set to begin on August 27 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The side will be led by all-rounder Mohammad Nabi and there will be only one change from the squad in the ongoing series against Ireland.

All-rounder Samiullah Shinwari has come in for Sharafuddin Ashraf, who is now among the reserves for the competition. Shinwari last played an international game in March 2020 in a T20I against Ireland. 17-year-old left-arm wrist spinner Noor Ahmad has also been added to the squad.

Afghanistan’s Chief Selector Noor Malikzai said that the Asia Cup is an important event and that they have picked the best possible team for the competition. He believes that Shinwari is in very good form and that he can boost the team’s batting department.

Qais Ahmed, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Nijat Masood in Afghanistan’s standby 

“The Asia Cup is an important event for us and, as such, we have picked our best available players for the event,” Malikzai was quoted as saying in the ICC website. “Samiullah Shinwari has been added to the side for the Asia Cup. He is in very good form and can give further impetus to the batting department, which already boasts Ibrahim Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, and Mohammad Nabi.”

Qais Ahmed, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Nijat Masood have been kept on standby for the Asia Cup. Afghanistan are in Group B along with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The final of the tournament will be played in Dubai on September 7. Afghanistan are currently in Belfast for a five-match T20I series against Ireland, and the series is level on 2-2, going into the fifth T20I on Wednesday. 

Afghanistan squad for Asia Cup: Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Afsar Zazai, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Farid Ahmad Malik, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Noor Ahmad, Samiullah Shinwari, Rashid Khan 

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store