Afghanistan pick three uncapped players for the ODi series against Bangladesh

Afghanistan pick three uncapped players for the ODi series against Bangladesh

ohammad Shahzad of Afghanistan
NAGPUR, INDIA – MARCH 08: Mohammad Shahzad. (Photo by Christopher Lee-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

Afghanistan has included three uncapped players – Ihsanullah, Karim Janat, and Naveen-ul-Haq – in their 17-member squad for the ODI series against Bangladesh. The team will be led by Asghar Stanikzai.

Ihsanullah, the 18-year-old opening batsman, was picked in Afghanistan’s squad for their Intercontinental Cup match against Netherlands earlier this year. Ihsanullah has played only one First class match.

The young batsman has scored 294 runs in 12 youth ODIs – all in the Under-19 World Cup. He also captained Afghanistan in the 2016 U-19 World Cup in Bangladesh. he will most likely be included in the first Xi give the fact that the Afghans are in a search for a stable opening partner for the explosive Ahmad Shehzad.

The squad comprises all-rounders Janat and 16-year-old Naveen-ul-Haq, who were also part of the U-19 World Cup squad in Bangladesh. Janat finished as the side’s leading run-scorer, and seventh overall, with 273 runs in six matches at an average of 45.50.

Nawroz Mangal, Ihsanullah’s older brother, and batsman Shabir Noori, who last played for Afghanistan in 2012, was also recalled after consistent performances in the 2016 domestic season.

Underperforming opener Noor Ali Zadran and middle order batsman Javed Ahmadi along with fast bowlers Hamid Hassan and Shapoor Zadran were show the door outside the squad. The rest of the ODI squad remains the same that toured Scotland and Ireland in July this year.

Afghanistan and Bangladesh begin their three-match ODI series in Dhaka on September 25. But, before that the visitors will face BCB XI in their only warm-up match on September 23 at Fatullah.

Afghanistan squad

Asghar Stanikzai (C), Mohammad Shahzad (WK), Rahmat Shah, Mirwais Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari, Rashid Khan, Hashmatullah Shaidi, Fareed Ahmad, Amir Hamza, Najibullah Zadran, Nawroz Mangal, Naveen-ul-Haq, Karim Janat, Shabir Noori, Ihsanullah