After a controverisal end to a World Cup final, ICC changes the super over rule
The super over will continue to take place until one team scores more runs.
Published - Oct 14, 2019 9:10 pm | Updated - Oct 14, 2019 9:10 pm
The World Cup 2019 final between England and New Zealand was a real humdinger. Both the teams scored the same number of runs in 50 overs and the scores were tied in the super over as well. However, the strange rule saw England winning the title on the basis of boundary count after which many slammed the ICC. The experts were of the opinion that the World Cup should’ve been shared. They also felt that the Kiwis were unfortunately at the receiving end.
However, the ICC has now decided to change the controversial rule. From now on, if the super over it also tied, another super over will take place until one of the two competing teams score more runs. According to the old rules, England had scored 26 boundaries (24 fours and 2 sixes) including the ones in the super over. The Black Caps had hit only 17 boundaries (14 fours and 3 sixes) in comparison which led to the hosts winning the World Cup.
There was a lot of criticism from all the corners of the fraternity even as England celebrated their maiden title at the world event. However, even Eoin Morgan also felt sad for New Zealand and felt that the rules should’ve been fair.
What if the new ICC rules were in place?
ESPNCricinfo reported the news of the ICC changing the super over rule. England wouldn’t have won the World Cup on boundary count if the new ICC rules come into effect. The super over would’ve continued and New Zealand could’ve got another chance to claim their maiden World Cup.
Cricket World Cup final leads to an ICC rule change: from now on, Super Over repeated until one team scores more runs. Had those rules been in place for 2019 final, would have been another Super Over
— Tim (@timwig) October 14, 2019
Another controversy which had left many wondering was the overthrow runs which were awarded to England after the ball was deflected off Ben Stokes’ bat in the last over. Until then, New Zealand were ahead in the game and would’ve won the game if not for the controversial overthrow.
Rather Stokes himself apologised to New Zealand captain Kane Williamson for the incident after the match. But it mattered little for the Kiwis as the game had turned on its head during that moment. Nevertheless, the ICC has changed the rule now and hope there will be no more controversies from here on.