Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara likely to face demotions in BCCI central contract

Pujara and Rahane have been short of runs lately.

Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara
Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

View : 985

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

In what can be called a massive development, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane are set to face demotions in the BCCI annual contracts. The veteran duo have been short of runs lately and have faced massive criticism for the same. Even their place in the side has come under the scanner. Owing to all these factors, BCCI is set to demote them to Grade B category from Group A.

It must be noted that Indian cricket is on the cusp of a transition with Virat Kohli stepping down as captain across all three formats. Hence, BCCI can make some massive changes in the central contracts. While some under-performing veterans can go down the pecking order, youngsters may be awarded for their impressive show in recent times.

Ishant Sharma also likely to receive a Grade B contract

Meanwhile, the major report was carried out by the Times of India. The draft of central contracts for the period October 2021-September 2022 has been ready for some months now. The formal announcement is likely to be made soon. For the unversed, the BCCI annual contracts are divided into four categories: A+, A, B and C worth INR 7 crore, 5 crore, 3 crore and 1 crore respectively.

Besides Pujara and Rahane, veteran pacer Ishant Sharma is also likely to receive a Grade B contract as his stocks have gone down in recent times. As the annual contracts are given on the basis of the performance of the preceding year, fast bowler Mohammed Siraj might be drafted to either Grade A or Grade B category from Grade C.

While Axar Patel is also likely to be promoted to Grade B, Umesh Yadav can fall to Grade C. Shardul Thakur is likely to retain the Grade B contract. Meanwhile, there won’t be too many changes in the top-two category. Former skipper Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah are set to be retained as A+ cricketers. At the same time, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja will remain in Grade A.

“The draft was made after the T20 World Cup. A final call will be taken soon. Indian cricket has to move forward and performances of new players can’t be ignored,” a BCCI source was quoted as saying by TOI.