Andhra Pradesh to host 7th Edition of the Celebrity Cricket League

Andhra Pradesh to host 7th Edition of the Celebrity Cricket League

Celebrity Cricket League
Celebrity Cricket League. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) that features popular film stars and stalwarts competing against each other in the shortest format of the game will be held on April 1 and 2 in the city of Vijaywada in Andhra Pradesh. The CCL Managing Director and founder I. Vishnu along with popular Bollywood producer Sohail Khan were engaged in a meeting with Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu to brief him about the highly entertaining league at the Secretariat, on Wednesday (February 14).

The CCL is known for connecting the Indian movie stars with the country’s valiant cricketers which brings together two of the biggest industries that thrive in the country. Mr. Vishnu confirmed that the CCL Super Sixers will be held in the city and would play an essential role in promoting the city’s tourism. The Telegu, Tamil, Kannada, and Hindi film industry will land one team each that will lock horns in the tournament.

5 over matches have been scheduled for the league that will take place at the Indira Gandhi Municipal Complex (IGMC) Stadium in Vijayawada, said the founder of the league. Each team will have four film stars and two cricketers to make a total of 6 players.

“We are also planning to organise sports league in all 175 Assembly constituencies to promote sports,” he said.

The Celebrity Cricket league saw its inaugural season take place in the year of 2011 and has been played every year ever since. Big names from the Bollywood film industry such as Salman Khan, Katrina Kaif, Bipasha Basu, Prabhu Deva etc have been a part of this grand event on various occasions. Telegu Warriors are the reigning champions of the league which marked their second title in CCL history. Karnataka Bulldozers and Chennai Rhinos are the other two team who have managed to win the league twice.