APL 2018: DSport acquires broadcasting rights in the Indian subcontinent

APL 2018: DSport acquires broadcasting rights in the Indian subcontinent

The tournament is all set to start from October 5.

Officials at the launch of Afghanistan Premier League
Officials at the launch of Afghanistan Premier League. (Photo Source: Khaleej Times)

The inaugural edition of the Afghanistan Premier League (APL) is all set to begin on October 5. It will be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and will be played until October 21 with some of the best T20 cricketers set to make their presence felt. All the matches of the league will be played in Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Meanwhile, DSport has acquired the rights of the tournament in the Indian subcontinent.

The T20 league has been approved and sanctioned by the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) and the International Cricket Council (ICC) as well. A total of five teams will battle it out for the ultimate prize over the span of 17 days and 23 matches. Also, as many as 35 overseas cricketers will feature in the competition including the likes of Shahid Afridi, Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum and Andre Russell.

ACB keen to make it a big success

The CEO of ACB, Shafiqullah Stanikzai, was keen to make the tournament a big success and felt that it will be watched with more interest in India. “We are delighted that the APL T 20 will be carried to close to 100 million homes in India through the Broadcast on DSport. We expect a keenly fought competition which is sure to enthral the Cricket loving Viewers in India,” he was quoted as saying by Inside Sport.

Karan Bajaj, Senior Vice President & General Manager – South Asia, Discovery Communications India, was also excited to join hands with the ACB to broadcast the T20 league. He was also delighted with the fact that the matches were taking place during the prime time in India.

“We are excited to partner with Afghanistan Cricket Board to broadcast the inaugural edition of Afghanistan Cricket League in India. We expect huge traction for the league given the presence of superstars of cricket and the fact all the matches will be played at the prime time in India,” Bajaj said.

[interaction id=”5b9ce2ab424674579b75cad8″]

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.