Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup
Asia Cup. (Photo Source: Disney+Hotstar)

Sri Lanka lifted the 2022 T20 Asia Cup after defeating Pakistan in the final. The 2022 edition of the tournament started on August 27 with a total of six teams including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, and Hong Kong taking part. 

Talking about Asia Cup’s history, the very first edition of the tournament was played in 1984 in UAE with India and Sri Lanka facing each other in the final match. The Men in Blue were crowned as the first Asia Cup winners. The second edition of the Asia Cup was played in 1986 with the runners-up from the first edition, Sri Lanka lifting the cup this time after beating Pakistan.

The 12th edition of the Asia Cup in which T20 World Cup winners Sri Lanka were crowned as champions was one of the most entertaining editions with several close contests being played in the tournament, but Sri Lanka won the final match easily against Pakistan by five wickets.

Meanwhile, Team India is the most successful team in the Asia Cup, having lifted the cup seven times. Sri Lanka comes in second place after winning the prized trophy five times, while Pakistan has also won Asia Cup twice. Bangladesh can term themselves unlucky as they have reached the finals of the Asia Cup thrice but never managed to lift the cup.

Asia Cup Winners & Runners List (1984 to 2023)

Edition Year Winner Won by Runner-up Host
16th 2023 India 10 wickets Sri Lanka Sri Lanka/Pakistan
15th 2022 Sri Lanka 23 runs Pakistan Sri Lanka
14th 2018 India 3 wickets Bangladesh UAE
13th 2016 India 8 wickets Bangladesh Bangladesh
12th 2014 Sri Lanka 5 wickets Pakistan Bangladesh
11th 2012 Pakistan 2 runs Bangladesh Bangladesh
10th 2010 India 81 runs Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
9th 2008 Sri Lanka 100 runs India Pakistan
8th 2004 Sri Lanka 25 runs India Sri Lanka
7th 2000 Pakistan 39 runs Sri Lanka Bangladesh
6th 1997 Sri Lanka 8 wickets India Sri Lanka
5th 1995 India 8 wickets Sri Lanka UAE
4th 1990-91 India 7 wickets Sri Lanka India
3rd 1988 India 6 wickets Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2nd 1986 Sri Lanka 5 wickets Pakistan Sri Lanka
1st 1984 India India won Sri Lanka UAE

Asia Cup Winners List with Captain, Man of the Match, and Player of the Series

Year Winner Captain Man of the Match Player of the Tournament
2023 India Rohit Sharma Mohammed Siraj Kuldeep Yadav
2022 Sri Lanka Dasun Shanaka Bhanuka Rajapaksa Wanindu Hasaranga
2018 India Rohit Sharma Litton Das Shikhar Dhawan
2016 India Ms Dhoni Shikhar Dhawan Sabbir Rahman
2014 Sri Lanka Angelo Mathews Lasith Malinga Lahiru Thirimanne
2012 Pakistan Misbah-ul-Haq Shahid Afridi Shakib Al Hasan
2010 India Ms Dhoni Dinesh Karthik Shahid Afridi
2008 Sri Lanka Mahela Jayawardene  Ajantha Mendis Ajantha Mendis
2004 Sri Lanka Marvan Atapattu Marvan Atapattu Sanath Jayasuriya
2000 Pakistan Moin Khan   Moin Khan   Mohammad Yousuf
1997 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga Marvan Atapattu Arjuna Ranatunga
1995 India Mohammad Azharuddin Mohammad Azharuddin  Navjot Sidhu
1990-91 India Mohammad Azharuddin Mohammad Azharuddin  -
1988 India Dilip Vengsarkar Navjot Sidhu Navjot Sidhu
1986 Sri Lanka Duleep Mendis Javed Miandad Arjuna Ranatunga
1984 India Sunil Gavaskar Surinder Khanna -


Most Titles Wins in Asia Cup

Winner Victories Winner Year
India 8

1984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016 2018, & 2023

Sri Lanka 6

1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022

Pakistan 2 2000 & 2012

*Last updated on 17th September 2023