Australia name unchanged squad for the first Test against Pakistan

View : 192

2 Min Read

Matthew Renshaw
Matthew Renshaw of the Bulls. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

Cricket Australia today announced the Australian Test squad for the first Test of the series against Pakistan. The opening game will be a day-night Test and the second pink ball match for both the teams.  Australia would want to change their fortunes here after being handed over a series defeat by South Africa at home.

After conceding the series the selectors decided to bring in as many as six new players to the squad. The move clicked and the team was able to return with a win to end the series 2-1. Having attained the desirable result CA decided to stick with the same 12-player team for the first Pakistan Test as well. Interim chief selector Trevor Hohns said, “We were very pleased with how the team came together in Adelaide after some significant changes following the Tests in Perth and Hobart,”

He also mentioned that the young team that performed in the previous match definitely deserved another opportunity. “This is a young group with a lot of promise and we believe all deserve their opportunity again in this upcoming Test.”

Opening batsman Shaun Marsh who is recovering from a ginger injury wasn’t available and thus Matt Renshaw will once again walk out to open the innings with David Warner. The duo of Peter Handscomb and Nic Maddinson has also managed to hold onto their place in the team.

Marsh missed out the series against South Africa as well and team physiotherapist Alex Kountouris said that the left-hander first has needs to start batting and then undergo scans. “Shaun has yet to resume batting and will have a follow-up x-ray this week that will be reviewed by a specialist,” said Alex. “This will determine when he can resume cricket training.”

The three-Test series will kick off with the opening game from December 15 at Brisbane. The following two matches will be played at Melbourne (December 26-30) and Sydney (January 3-7), Pakistan will also play five ODIs on the tour.

Australian Squad for the first Test: Steve Smith (C), David Warner, Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Matt Renshaw, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wk)

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store