Australia vs Sri Lanka: Visitors announce the 16-man squad for the T20I series

Australia vs Sri Lanka: Visitors announce the 16-man squad for the T20I series

Malinga returns to lead the side after missing the Pakistan tour.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced the 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Australia Down Under. Lasith Malinga has returned to lead the side after he missed the recently concluded Pakistan tour. 10 of Sri Lanka’s top players missed the tour citing security issues and the islanders came out with flying colours whitewashing the world number 1 T20I side.

Several players of the second-string side have been retained thanks to their exceptional performances. The Man of the Series Wanindu Hasaranga, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Oshada Fernando will travel to Australia later this month for the three T20 Internationals. Dasun Shanaka led the team in Pakistan admirably well and he has also been picked but only as a player this time.

Sri Lanka recall only 4 players from earlier team

The selectors have decided to recall only four out of 10 players who didn’t travel to Pakistan. Apart from Lasith Malinga, Sri Lanka have brought back Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis. The earlier discards, Danushka Gunathilaka and Shehan Jayasuriya have also been retained. They were rewarded for being extremely consistent on Pakistan tour.

The bowling attack also looks strong with Nuwan Pradeep leading the pack. Isuru Udana, Lahiru Kumara and Kasun Rajitha will assist him in the pace bowling department. Hasaranga will have Lakshan Sandakan by his side but it remains to be seen if the latter gets a chance as there might be no turn on offer in Australia. Jayasuriya is more than a part-timer to roll his arm in that case.

The three-match series will commence on October 27 with the series opener to be played at the Adelaide Oval. The last two T20Is are set to take place at The Gabba and the MCG in Brisbane and Melbourne respectively. Last time Sri Lanka faced Australia Down Under in the shortest format, the islanders had come out victorious courtesy a special knock from Asela Gunaratne.

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Lasith Malinga – Captain, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha.

[interaction id=”5da07eca43a8074ee9c2089e”]