Sri Lanka name 18-member squad for Bangladesh Tests

Sri Lanka name 18-member squad for Bangladesh Tests

Sri Lanka is currently placed fifth on the World Test Championship (WTC) standings.

PORT ELIZABETH, SOUTH AFRICA – FEBRUARY 22: Kasun Rajitha of Sri Lanka celebrates the wicket of Temba Bavuma of South Africa during the day 2 of the 2nd Castle Lager Test match between South Africa and Sri Lanka at St George’s Park on February 22, 2019, in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Sri Lanka skipper Dimuth Karunaratne will handle a little less experienced side during their two-match Test series against Bangladesh starting from May 15 (Sunday). The first match will be played in Chattogram and the second match will be played in Mirpur starting on May 23 (Monday).

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has named an 18-member squad for the Test series with several prominent players missing from the camp. SLC has also added four uncapped players in form of wicketkeeper-batter Kamil Mishara, spin-bowling allrounder Kamindu Mendis, left-arm quick Dilshan Madushanka, and leg-spinner Suminda Lakshan.

Several key players missing from the Sri Lanka squad

It may be noted that batter Roshen Silva has decided that he will not be a part of the squad. Similarly, Suranga Lakmal has taken retirement and their express pacer Dushmantha Chameera, who is currently playing for the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, will not be available for selection.

As a result, the attack will be led by left-arm pacer Vishwa Fernando along with Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, and uncapped Dilshan Madushanka. In the spin department, left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya will be the senior bowler along with Ramesh Mendis and Praveen Jayawickrama.

In the batting department, skipper Karunratane will have to take the responsibility for his team. The left-handed batter is currently ranked sixth on the International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s Test Batting Rankings. He will be supported by some senior batters Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, and wicketkeeper-batter Niroshan Dickwella.

It may be noted that Sri Lanka is currently placed fifth on the World Test Championship (WTC) standings, after winning two Tests and losing5 loss another two during the 2021/23 period. Their opponents Bangladesh have won just one Test in that period, with 5 losses.

Sri Lanka squad for Bangladesh Test

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Sumida Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya.