Bangladesh announce 20-man squad for New Zealand tour

Bangladesh announce 20-man squad for New Zealand tour

Fast bowler Al-Amin Hossain has also made his way into the national team.

Bangladesh. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Mosaddek Hossain Saikat has replaced Shakib Al Hasan as Bangladesh announced their 20-man squad for the tour of New Zealand, scheduled to get underway on March 20. The Mymensingh-born Saikat hasn’t featured for the Tigers since their tour of India late in 2019.

The 25-year-old, recently, played for Gazi Group Chattogram in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup and for Maratha Arabians in the T10 League in Abu Dhabi. Mosadeek has been roped in as a like-for-like replacement of Shakib, who has taken paternity leave from the tour to attend the birth of his third child.

“Since Shakib is not available, we brought Mosaddek as he is also an all-rounder and an experienced player,” chief selector Minhajul Abedin was quoted as saying.

Earlier this year, Shakib announced the pregnancy of his wife Umme Ahmed Shishir and the BCB has granted him leave as well. “We have granted him leave during the New Zealand tour.” Akram Khan, the BCB cricket operation chairman, was quoted saying on February 11.

Bangladesh call-up Nasum Ahmed

Nasum Ahmed, who’s yet to make his international debut, has also been picked on the back of impressive shows at the domestic circuit. “We picked Nasum for the same reason. He did well in domestic limited over matches. He came ahead of Taijul Islam, who we want now to focus more on Test cricket,” he added.

Fast bowler Al-Amin Hossain has also made his way into the national scheme of things. Bangladesh have also persisted with Najmul Hossain Shanto and Mohammad Mithun, who both flattered to deceive in the ODIs and Tests against the West Indies.

Yasir Ali Chowdhury has been left out of the squad despite impressive performances in domestic cricket. Tamim Iqbal is set to lead the Tigers in the ODI and T20I series. The tour starts with an ODI at the University Oval in Dunedin. The three-match T20I series will start on Sunday, March 28.

Here’s the Bangladesh squad:

Tamim Iqbal (C), Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim Sheikh, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed