Bangladesh celebrations become laughing stock for Mohammad Kaif
Published - Mar 10, 2017 9:41 pm | Updated - Mar 10, 2017 9:41 pm
Former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif couldn’t stop laughing after he saw the recent false celebration of Bangladesh’s Subhasis Roy. Most of the cricket fans must be aware of the bizarre celebration that Roy had during the day 2 play of the first Test between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The celebration went down as an embarrassing moment for the bowler as the ball had crossed the ropes. The action perspired when Subhasis ran in to bowl his third over on the day.
Sri Lanka batsman Kusal Mendis failed to get hold of it and top edged it towards the fine leg region. Mustafizur Rahman was perfectly placed there for a catch. Rahman managed to scalp the ball but ended up stepping over the ropes. Failing to realize that Mustafizur had crossed the boundary ropes, Subhasis started off with his celebrations thinking he had the danger man dismissed.
It was the umpire and the non-striker batsman Niroshan Dickwella who then informed him that it was actually a six. Well, how often do you see a bowler celebrate after being hit for a six? The social media erupted with trolls. Mohammad Kaif comes as no exception as he also found the incident to be very funny. Kaif posted a picture on the social media platform Twitter of the incident where the bowler can be seen celebrating with the umpire signalling six in the backdrop.
He also noted that Bangladesh continue to entertain with their celebrations. This was a subtle throwback at the ICC World T20 encounter between India and Bangladesh last year. Considering that Bangladesh would go on to win the match with ease, Mushfiqur Rahim had started off his celebrations. However, India had managed to eke out a 1 run win and the celebration was heavily trolled back then as well.
In his tweet, Mohammad Kaif wrote, “Lol ! Bangladesh continue to entertain. Umpire signals 6, bowler celebrating. Caught beyond the boundary.”
Lol ! Bangladesh continue to entertain. Umpire signals 6, bowler celebrating. Caught beyond the boundary. pic.twitter.com/96WO28sdP6
— Mohammad Kaif (@MohammadKaif) March 10, 2017