'Things will change soon' - Nitish Rana reacts after being left out of South Africa T20Is

‘Things will change soon’ – Nitish Rana reacts after being left out of South Africa T20Is

Nitish Rana had a decent run during IPL 2022.

Nitish Rana
Nitish Rana. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) star batter Nitish Rana has indirectly expressed his disappointment after not being named in the T20I squad to play a five-match series against South Africa. Rana was in some decent touch during the 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) and played some valuable knocks for his team.

To note, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on May 22 (Sunday) announced an 18-member squad for the series, but Nitish Rana’s name was not on the list. The left-handed batter has given his reaction and put out a tweet to express share his mind on the matter.

Rana played his last T20I match against Sri Lanka in 2021

Notably, Rana has represented India in two T20Is but has not much to show in the runs column. He made his debut against Sri Lanka in July 2021 but did not get more chances for the Men in Blue. Talking about Rana numbers in IPL, the left-handed batter has played 91 matches and has scored a total of 2181 runs at an average of almost 28.

Meanwhile, Team India will be under the leadership of KL Rahul during the five matches T20I series. Some big names including Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Virat Kohli are missing from the squad. However, the likes of Avesh Khan, Dinesh Karthik, and Hardik Pandya have had an excellent IPL 2022 and will want to emulate their performances for the national team as well.

The five-match series will be played in India with the first encounter to take place in New Delhi on June 9, followed by encounters in Cuttack (June 12), Visakhapatnam (June 14), Rajkot (June 17), and the final match in Bengaluru on June 19 (Sunday). To note, Cricket South Africa (CSA) recently announced their 16-member squad for the tour.

India’s squad for the SA series:

KL Rahul (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.