BBL 2019-20: Match 50, Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder: Match Prediction – Weather Report, Pitch Conditions, Playing XIs and Live Streaming Details

Thunder's bowling unit, which was inefficient in their previous match, will be hoping to retaliate against Hobart Hurricanes.

Hobart Hurricanes
Hobart Hurricanes. (Photo by Jonathan DiMaggio/Getty Images)

As the journey of BBL 2019-20 is deviating towards its business end, Hobart Hurricanes and Sydney Thunder are set to lock horns in Match 50 of the tournament. It has been a mediocre journey for Hobart Hurricanes this season. In twelve matches so far, Hurricanes have amassed only four wins and are poised second-last in the points table.

However, they showcased a gritty performance in their previous match against Melbourne Renegades. The Matthew Wade-led side exhibited a robust batting performance and gathered 190 runs on the board.


The opening duo of Wade and Wright propelled their side to a flying start by scoring 66 and 70 runs respectively. Ben McDermott also hogged the attention by stitching an explosive 38-run cameo down the order. In reply, Renegades could amass 186 runs on the board, handing Hurricanes a narrow 4-run victory. Hurricanes will be looking forward to improving their record this season by delivering a solid performance against Sydney Thunder.

Sydney Thunder have fared better this season compared to Hobart Hurricanes. The Callum Ferguson-led side has registered five victories so far and are currently sitting fifth in the points table. Thunder will be aiming to break into the upper half of the points table by registering a win over Hobart Hurricanes.

However, in their previous match against Perth Scorchers, Thunder were inefficient in defending their total of 153 runs. A hapless Thunder bowling force saw Scorchers cruise to the target in the 16th over itself. Alex Hales, who smashed 85 runs off 69 deliveries, was the top performer for Thunder.

Pitch and Conditions

Bellerive Oval has hosted three matches this season and two matches have been a run-scoring fest. In the previous match hosted at this venue, Hobart Hurricanes suffered a batting collapse as they were dismissed on 98 while chasing a target of 176 runs. However, the pitch is anticipated to host a high-scoring encounter. The temperature is expected to hover around 20 degrees Celcius with slim chances of rain. The weather is anticipated to be mostly cloudy with moderate levels of humidity.

Team Combination

Hobart Hurricanes

Hobart Hurricanes’ batting force was in sublime touch in their previous match. Matthew Wade and Macalister Wright will be eager to deliver an explosive start for Hurricanes. David Miller and Ben McDermott will be heading their middle-order along with George Bailey. Hurricanes bowling attack will be steered by Qais Ahmad, Scott Boland and Clive Rose. Boland has 10 scalps to his name so far this season. Moreover, the return of D’Arcy Short and James Faulkner will bolster Hurricanes’ squad.

Predicted XI: Macalister Wright, George Bailey, Matthew Wade (c), Ben McDermott (wk), David Miller, D’Arcy Short, James Faulkner, Nathan Ellis, Scott Boland, Clive Rose, Qais Ahmad

Sydney Thunder

The duo of Daniel Sams and Chris Morris will be steering Thunder’s bowling force. Thunder’s bowling unit, which was inefficient in their previous match, will be hoping to retaliate and provide early breakthroughs in this match. Daniel Sams has been their leading wicket-taker in BBL 2019-20. In the batting department, Usman Khawaja and Alex Hales will be aiming to propel Thunder to a solid start. Skipper Callum Ferguson and Alex Ross have also delivered impressive performances with the bat this season.

Predicted XI: Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Callum Ferguson (C), Daniel Sams, Alex Ross, Chris Morris, Jay Lenton (wk), Arjun Nair, Gurinder Sandhu, Brendan Doggett, Liam Bowe

Probable Top Performers

D’Arcy Short – Hobart Hurricanes | Alex Hales– Sydney Thunder

Broadcast Details

TV– Sony Ten 3, Sony Ten 3 HD

Online– Sony LIV

Match Timings – 12:40 PM IST; 3:10 PM local time

The prediction is for the Sydney Thunder to win the match.