BBL 2020-21: Challenger - PRS vs BRH - Lynn against Scorchers, Labuschagne's unwanted record, Bancroft completes 1000 runs and more stats

BBL 2020-21: Challenger – PRS vs BRH – Lynn against Scorchers, Labuschagne’s unwanted record, Bancroft completes 1000 runs and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from Perth Scorchers' 49-run win during the PRS vs BRH game

Liam Livingstone
Liam Livingstone. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Perth Scorchers registered a comfortable 49-run win over Brisbane Heat by the DLS method to seal their place in the final of the BBL 2020-21. After being put in to bat first, the Scorchers were propelled by a sensational opening stand of 114 runs between Cameron Bancroft (58*) and Liam Livingstone (77). Mitchell Marsh then smashed 49 off 28 balls and when Perth were 189/1 after 18.1 overs, rain intervened. The Heat were then set a target of 200 runs in 18 overs on the resumption but they could only reach 150/9 to get knocked out of the tournament.

Here are all the statistical highlights from Perth Scorchers’ 49-run win during the PRS vs BRH game:

Perth Scorchers first win at Manuka Oval this season

1 – Perth Scorchers registered their first win of this season at the Manuka Oval. In all four matches, they batted first but failed to defend the total losing to Sydney Thunder, Sydney Sixers (twice). But in the Challenger, they batted first and defended the total to win by 49 runs.

Chris Lynn against Perth Scorchers in BBL

584 – Chris Lynn now has the most runs against the Perth Scorchers in the BBL. These are the most runs by a player against them in the history of the tournament. Lynn also has scored 576 runs, the most, against Sydney Thunder. Glenn Maxwell has amassed 572 runs against Sydney Sixers in the BBL.

Mitchell Marsh’s record against Brisbane Heat

408 – Mitchell Marsh now has the second-most runs in the BBL against Brisbane Heat. He has scored 408 runs in nine innings and went past Ben Dunk (406 runs) with his unbeaten 49 in the Challenger game. Aaron Finch is the highest run-getter against the Heat in the BBL with 433 runs to his name in 10 innings.

Cameron Bancroft reaches his milestone

1045 – Cameron Bancroft, during his unbeaten 58, went past 1000 runs in the BBL. He became the 5th player to aggregate 1000 runs in the T20 tournament for the Scorchers.

Marnus Labuschagne and Fawad Ahmed’s unwanted record

18 – Marnus Labuschagne conceded 36 runs in two overs at an economy of 18. This is the second-worst economy rate in a BBL game for Brisbane Heat (min: 2 overs). Andrew Fekete has the worst economy rate for Brisbane Heat in BBL during 2015-16.

2035 – Fawad Ahmed has now conceded 2035 runs in his 81-match career so far. He went for 26 runs in his four overs and went past Cameron Boyce who conceded 2011 runs in 76 BBL matches.

Ben Laughlin’s worst average in the T20 series/tournament

259 – BBL 2020-21 has been one of the worst seasons for Brisbane Heat pacer Ben Laughlin. He has picked only one wicket in 29 overs conceding 259 runs at an average of 259. This is the worst average for a bowler in a T20 series or tournament (min: 25 overs bowled).

Daryl Mitchell owned the embarrassing record previously after picking only one wicket while playing for Worcestershire in the 2006 English T20. He had gone for 242 runs after bowling for 25 overs in the tournament picking only one wicket.

Worst Bowling strike-rate in a T20 series/tournament

174 – Ben Laughlin’s strike-rate of 174 in BBL 2020-21 (min: 25 overs bowled) is second-worst in any T20 series/tournament. The record is held by Bhupinder Singh whose strike-rate was 180 while playing for Auckland Aces in 2012-13 season of HRV Cup having conceded 214 runs in 30 overs (picking only one wicket).