BBL 2021-22: Brisbane Heat re-sign Afghanistan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman

BBL 2021-22: Brisbane Heat re-sign Afghanistan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Darren Lehmann was instrumental in telling Heat's new coach Wade Seccombe to sign Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman
Mujeeb Ur Rahman. (Photo by Brett Hemmings/Getty Images)

Afghanistan finger spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman is all set to play his fourth season for Brisbane Heat in the 11th edition of Big Bash League (BBL). The announcement was made on August 31 as Heat managed to re-sign their star player yet again. The young spinner has been one of the shining stars with his economical bowling and timely breakthroughs.

He has so far picked 29 wickets in 26 matches at an outstanding economy rate of 6.13 runs per over. Often used in the powerplays, Mujeeb has not disappointed so far by bowling to his strengths and not giving the batters a chance to free their arms. He was signed by Heat when he was an unknown commodity, but due to his exploits with the ball, Mujeeb was also subsequently roped by many franchises in the coming few years.

“I’m very pleased to have re-signed for Brisbane Heat for my fourth season with them,” Mujeeb said. “I’m very happy there, they’re great guys. The fans always support me and the team so I hope we can win the Big Bash for them,” Mujeeb told ESPNcricinfo.

During this year’s BBL, Heat will have Wade Seccombe as the head coach, as Darren Lehmann stepped down last year, but continues to remain as the assistant coach of the team. The former Australia batter was also instrumental in convincing the Heat’s new coach to re-sign Mujeeb for the 11th edition of BBL as well.

Darren Lehmann convinced in having Mujeeb play another season for Brisbane Heat: Wade Seccombe

“Darren has reported back to us that he keeps getting better each time he sees him,'” Seccombe said. “It’s exciting for us to have him in the line-up again. It makes a big difference to how we match-up with other teams, and his skills and controls enables other players in our squad to come to the fore as well.”

“It was notable how Mitch Swepson and Matt Kuhnemann enjoyed working with him last season so we’re looking forward to him arriving closer to the tournament and getting ready to go.”

Heat will also have a new captain for this year’s BBL as Chris Lynn has stepped down from the role. The franchise is yet to announce a new leader.

Brisbane Heat squad: Chris Lynn, Tom Banton (England), Xavier Bartlett, Sam Heazlett, Jimmy Peirson, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson, Matt Willans, Tom Cooper, Michael Neser, Marnus Labuschagne, Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afghanistan)