BCB announces Bangladesh T20I squad for Pakistan tour; five support staff members withdrawn from the tour

The T20Is will start on the 24th of January.

Pakistan vs Bangladesh
Pakistan vs Bangladesh. (Photo by Jordan Mansfield/Getty Images)

Following Bangladesh wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim’s withdrawal from the tour of Pakistan, it has come to light that 5 members of the team’s support staff too will not be travelling to Pakistan for the upcoming tour, starting later this month. Following a series of events in 2009, teams had stopped touring Pakistan.

But after that things have returned to normalcy. And, since then, Pakistan has hosted 12 T20 Internationals and 6 One Day Internationals, all of which went on without any hindrance. Even many foreign payers had travelled to Pakistan to participate in the Pakistan Super League and appreciated the arrangements and environment there. The country also hosted its first Test match in 10 years, playing hosts to the Lankans in December 2019.


Five Bangladesh support staff members not to tour Pakistan

As reported by India Today, 5 members of Bangladesh’s support staff will not be travelling to Pakistan with the team. As told by, Akram Khan, the Cricket Operations Chairman of the Bangladesh Cricket Board, that the team’s batting coach Neil McKenzie along with Fielding coach, Ryan Cook had withdrawn themselves.

The recently appointed spin consultant of the team, Daniel Vettori hasn’t been called for such a short tour. Also, the team analyst, Shrinivas Chandrasekaran, owing to the fact that he is an Indian national will also not travel to Pakistan. Akram said, “Mario broke his hand recently while team analyst will be working with the team over Skype. McKenzie and fielding coach will also not be going, while we haven’t yet confirmed on our new bowling coach.”

The tour will have three T20 Internationals, two Test matches, along with a lone One Day International match that will be played in Karachi. The T20Is will start on the 24th of January. The first Test will be played from the 7th to 11th of February followed by an ODI on the 3rd of April. The second Test starts from the 5th of April. The BCB also released the squad for the T20I series.

Bangladesh T20I squad for Pakistan series: Mahmudullah (C), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Najmul Hossain, Litton Das, MD Mithun, Afif Hossain, Mahadi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Hasan Mahmud