BCCI announce India squad for WTC Final and five-match series against England

BCCI announce India squad for WTC Final and five-match series against England

The selectors have also named four standby players.

Team India
Team India. (Photo Source: BCCI)

BCCI has announced team India’s squad for the World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand and the subsequent five-match Test series against England. There are no surprises in the squad and almost all the players have made it to the line-up that played on the Australia tour. Axar Patel has been retained as well following his excellent performance in the debut series against England at home.

Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Shardul Thakur are the six pacers in the squad. T Natarajan has missed out as he is currently injured and was also ruled out of the IPL 2021. Hanuma Vihari and Ravindra Jadeja who were ruled out due to different injuries during the Australia tour and missed the England series have returned as well.

Meanwhile, KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha have been named in the squad but they will travel only after clearing the fitness test. Rahul underwent surgery for acute appendicitis only recently while Saha, who is the second choice wicketkeeper of India’s Test side, tested positive for COVID-19 earlier this week.

Selectors name four standby players

The selection committee has also named four standby players who will travel with the team and also make it to the squad later in case of any injuries. Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla are the players in this list and all have been awarded for their impressive performances in the domestic circuit. Avesh Khan, particularly, was in the limelight in the IPL 2021 as well playing for Delhi Capitals.

There are no details over when will team India, led by Virat Kohli, will leave for the United Kingdom but no that the squad has been announced, it is likely to happen soon after the formalities are completed. Team India, on their tour of England, will first reach Southampton where the WTC Final will be played from June 18 to 22. The five-match Test series against England will then commence on August 4 and the tour will conclude on September 14.

India squad for WTC Final and five-match Test series against England:

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Schedule of India’s tour of England 2021-22

India’s tour of England, 2021-22
Sr. Date Match Venue
A 18th – 22nd June WTC Final vs NZ Southampton
1 4th – 8th August 1st Test vs England Nottingham
2 12th – 16th August 2nd Test vs England London (Lord’s)
3 25th – 29th August 3rd Test vs England Leeds
4 2nd – 6th September 4th Test vs England London (Oval)
5 10th – 14th September 5th Test vs England Manchester