BCCI announces India squad for T20I series against New Zealand

BCCI announces India squad for T20I series against New Zealand

Several players have been rested for the T20I series.

Indian cricket team
Indian cricket team. (Photo by AAMIR QURESHI/AFP via Getty Images)

BCCI has announced India’s squads for the upcoming T20I at home against New Zealand. The tour will commence with the T20Is on November 17 while the Test matches are set to be played from November 25. India were knocked out of the T20 World Cup in the Super 12 round itself and it also ended Virat Kohli’s tenure as the T20 captain. The selectors have appointed Rohit Sharma as India’s captain for the T20I series.

As expected, a lot of players who were a part of the World Cup squad have been rested for the T20I series after spending more than six months inside a bubble. The likes of Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja have been kept away from the three T20Is against the Kiwis.

Interestingly, the players who were in the reserves for the World Cup, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar and Axar Patel have been included in the main squad this time. This is also an opportunity for the players to stake their claim with the next T20 World Cup only 11 months away. Yuzvendra Chahal also returns post a shock World Cup exclusion.

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj

India vs New Zealand T20I schedule:

Day Date Match Venue
Wednesday 17th Nov 2021 1st T20I Jaipur
Friday 19th Nov 2021 2nd T20I Ranchi
Sunday 21st Nov 2021 3rd T20I Kolkata

India ‘A’ squad for the South Africa tour announced

The selection committee also picked the India ‘A’ squad for the South Africa tour, which will start from 23rd November, 2021 in Bloemfontein. The team will play three four-day matches during the tour. The South Africa series will see the two teams playing three Tests, three ODIs and four T20Is.

India ‘A’ squad for South Africa tour: Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla

India A vs South schedule:

Day Date Match Venue
Tue-Fri 23rd to 26th Nov 2021 1st Four-day Match Bloemfontein
Mon-Thu 29th Nov to 2nd Dec 2021 2nd Four-day Match Bloemfontein
Mon-Thu 6th to 9th Dec 2021 3rd Four-day Match Bloemfontein