BCCI announces India's 15-member ODI squad for Zimbabwe series, Deepak Chahar returns

BCCI announces India’s 15-member ODI squad for Zimbabwe series, Deepak Chahar returns

Senior players including Kohli and Rahul continue to rest while Dhawan remains the captain.

Deepak Chahar
Deepak Chahar. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

BCCI has announced India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe. Shikhar Dhawan has been backed to stay the captain for this series even as KL Rahul continues to remain on the sidelines after the BCCI medical team advised him rest for one more week which led him to miss the ongoing T20I series against West Indies. Many had expected for him to lead the team in Zimbabwe ODIs but now he should be back for the Asia Cup to be played in the UAE.

Meanwhile, several reports suggested that Virat Kohli will be included for this tour in order to regain his form. But the selectors have decided to continue resting him it seems keeping in mind the upcoming Asia Cup. Meanwhile, India pacer Deepak Chahar has returned to the set up after a long break during which he missed the Indian Premier League (IPL) as well along with the subsequent international series for India.

Washington Sundar also makes a comeback

Apart from Deepak Chahar, even Washington Sundar has returned to the mix after regaining his fitness and playing well in the County Championship. Rahul Tripathi who got a chance only in a solitary warm-up game during his recent stay with the Indian team, has also received his maiden call-up in India’s ODI squad for this series.

Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson are the two wicket-keepers picked while Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur form the pace attack. Axar Patel, and Kuldeep Yadav are the other spinners in the line-up while Ruturaj Gaikwad, who didn’t play a single ODI in West Indies, has been retained.

India squad for Zimbabwe ODIs: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.