BCCI announces updated squad for England Test series, Shaw and SKY included

Team India, led by Virat Kohli, will start with their World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle with this tour.

View : 41.6K

2 Min Read

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday (July 26) announced the updated squad for the upcoming England tour, which starts from August 4. There were multiple injuries in the squad and the team management requested for replacements to the injured players. Opener Shubman Gill, all-rounder Washington Sundar and fast bowler Avesh Khan have been ruled out of the tour.

All-rounder Washington Sundar had taken an injection on his right-hand bowling finger. However, his recovery will take longer than expected and he is not bowling-fit. He is ruled out of the remainder of the tour. Fast bowler Avesh Khan suffered a blow to his left thumb on Day 1 of the warm-up game. He was taken for an X-Ray and the result confirmed a fracture. A specialist was consulted for further management of his injury. He is ruled out of India’s tour of England.  

Rishabh Pant joins the team after testing negative twice for COVID-19

Opening batsman Shubman Gill sustained a developing stress reaction on his left lower leg (shin) during the World Test Championship final. This was confirmed via an MRI scan. He is ruled out of the tour and has returned back to India. Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant has recovered from COVID-19 with two negative RT-PCR tests. He has begun his preparations for the upcoming Test series after clearance from the BCCI Medical Team.

Bowling coach B. Arun, Wriddhiman Saha, and Abhimanyu Easwaran have completed their self-isolation in London and have now joined Team India in Durham. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Prithvi Shaw and Suryakumar Yadav as replacements.

Team India, led by Virat Kohli, will start with their World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle with this tour. On the other hand, England have also named the squad with Haseeb Hameed and Ollie Robinson making their comeback.

India’s updated squad: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav

Standby players: Prasidh Krishna, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store