Natraj Behera leads the highest individual score tally in Ranji Trophy 2015-16

Natraj Behera leads the highest individual score tally in Ranji Trophy 2015-16

Natraj Behera
Odisha skipper, Natraj Bhuban Behera. (Photo Source: K Sivaraman)

The skipper of Odisha, Natraj Bhuban Behera, leads the table of ‘high score by a batsman’ in an innings in the Ranji Trophy 2015-16. This, he achieved in the match against Haryana, played at Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium, Lalhi, Rohtak between 15th and 18th November 2015.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, Odisha did not start well. They opened the innings with Girija Rout and Natraj Behera. However, Rout (10) left soon at the team’s score of 17 runs.

Playing only in his second first-class match, 20-year old Ranjit Singh joined his skipper in the middle. What followed thereafter was a run-riot with both the batsmen going ‘hammer and tongs.’

As many as seven bowlers went put to use by the Haryana skipper, Mohit Sharma (including himself) but all of them faced the wrath of these two batsmen who came up with a 282-run partnership for the second wicket. This is the third best partnership for any wicket in the league stage of this edition of the tournament.

After 686 minutes of batting through 163 overs, Odisha put up 526/9 decl in their first innings. The chief contributor, the skipper, Natraj Behera, playing in his 45th first-class match, came up with his 8th century, and scored an unbeaten 255* runs, aided by 19 fours and 4 sixes. Behera batted for 686 minutes (the entire duration of the innings) and faced 453 deliveries.

The young Ranjit Singh came up with his maiden first-class century and scored 112 runs, facing 289 deliveries in a span of 383 minutes. Singh had 8 fours and 3 sixes in his knock.

Odisha was successful in restricting Haryana to 216/10 runs in their first innings, thereby taking a crucial lead of 310 runs. With the Haryana second innings remaining inconclusive at 250/4, the match ended in a draw with Odisha picking up 3 points and Haryana was credited with a solitary point.

Behera is closely followed on the ‘highest individual scorer’ table by Swapnil Asnodkar of Goa (232 runs). However, both the teams are out of Ranji Trophy 2015-16, failing to qualify for the knock-out round.