Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee congratulates Mithali Raj for her feat

Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee congratulates Mithali Raj for her feat

Mamata Banerjee congratulates Raj.

Mithali Raj
Mithali Raj, Captain of India. (Photo by Harry Trump-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

It was a very memorable day for Indian cricket as Mithali Raj added another feather to her cap by becoming the leading run scorer in ODI cricket and also scaling the 6000 ODI run mark. West Bengal Chief Minister, Mamata Banerjee wasn’t behind in appreciating the efforts of greatest batter in Women’s Cricket. Raj is also leading the Women’s cricket team in the ongoing ICC Women’s World Cup.

One of the longest running Prime Minister of West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee, took to Twitter to celebrate a special occasion for Indian Cricket. Previously, England’s Charlotte Edwards held the record for the most number of runs in this format of the game with 5992 runs. Coming in to bat with her team precariously placed, putting up only 9 runs and losing the wicket of Mandhana, Raj played yet another special knock of 69 off 114 deliveries, playing the role of a sheath anchor and giving able support to Poonam Raut, who scored a crucial inning of 106.

Captain’s knock from Raj and Lanning

With the efforts of the two batters, India was able to post a par score of 226 runs, in front of the batting heavy Southern Stars. Meg Lanning played a captain’s knock as she steered her side towards victory with her inning of 76 off 88 balls. She stitched a vital partnership with Ellyse Perry, who scored a crisp 67-ball 60. The India skipper got to the landmark by punching Australia’s Ellyse Perry to the covers in their ongoing ICC Women’s World Cup group match at Bristol on Wednesday.Mithali broke another record when she became the first player in the women’s game to notch 6000 ODI runs when she launched leg-spinner Kristen Beams over long-on for a big six.

“Congratulations @M_Raj03 for becoming the highest ever run scorer in the history of women’s ODI cricket.We are proud of u,” tweeted the Chief Minister of Bengal and the leader of Trinamool Congress. Virat Kohli, Anil Kumble, Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane and VVS Laxman also praised the right-hander for the feat.