IPL 2024: Best bowling figures in IPL history

Now teams have realised that they need to have quality bowlers in their squad to win the title.

View : 17.2K

11 Min Read

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a lifeline for many fans giving them pure joy and excitement. The league has flourished over the years and is now competing to become one of the most popular tournaments in the sports arena. Though the initial impression from IPL was that it is made just for batters, that thinking has changed in the last couple of years. Notably, the brand new sixteenth edition will commence from Friday, March 31, 2023 with a clash between defending Champions Gujarat Titans and four-time trophy holders Chennai Super Kings at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Now teams have realised that they need to have quality bowlers in their squad to win the title. In many games, it has been seen that one bowler completely changed the match to tilt it in the favour of his team. In this article, let’s take a look at-

Best Bowling Figures in IPL History

The record for best bowling figures in an IPL game belongs to young pacer Alzarri Joseph. He ran through the batting lineup of Sunrisers Hyderabad in a low scoring match and picked up 6 wickets for just 12 runs in 2019. Mumbai Indians had set a target of 137 runs for the Hyderabad team which looked completely achievable. However, SRH could not sustain the regular blows of Alzarri Joseph and got bundled for just 96 runs losing the match by 40 runs. 

The record which Joseph broke was earlier held by Sohail Tanvir for 11 years. Tanvir had registered figures of 6/14 against Chennai Super Kings while playing for Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural season. The Chennai team got all out for 109 runs while batting first in this game, and the Royals chased this total very easily in 14.2 overs to win by 8 wickets.

Adam Zampa announced himself to the IPL in style as he took a 6-fer for just 19 runs in just his second match in the league in 2016. He was vital in restricting Sunrisers Hyderabad to a total of 137/8 in 20 overs. However, the SRH bowlers made even this total look tough as CSK could only manage 133/8 in their innings, and lost the thriller by 4 runs.

Zampa’s figure thus remains the best bowling performance in a losing cause. He will be donning the colours of Rajasthan Royals in the upcoming edition starting March 31 and will be gunning to bag the IPL Purple cap and take Royals all the way.

The great Indian leg spinner Anil Kumble displayed his class in IPL as well and still holds the record for the most economical 5-wicket haul. He took 5 wickets in an innings against Rajasthan Royals while giving away just 5 runs in 3.1 overs including a maiden. The Rajasthan team got dismissed for just 58 runs while chasing 134, the lowest innings total then, and second-lowest in the IPL history.

New MI sensation Akash Madhwal tore Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) apart with his magical bowling spell in the eliminator clash in IPL 2023. The seamer took five wickets for just five runs in his 3.3 over spell in Chennai where his side thrashed LSG by a huge margin of 81 runs to progress to Qualifier Two.

India’s pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohit Sharma is fifth on the list of best bowling figures in IPL. The Mumbai Indians speedster breathed fire with the ball against KKR in IPL 2022 and delivered a fine spell. He gave away just 10 runs in his quota of four overs and took five wickets in the process. Mohit Sharma, on the other hand, also delivered a stellar spell against Mumbai Indians in IPL 2023. He conceded only 10 runs in his four overs and picked up a stunning five wickets, proving his own bowling Skill.

Best Bowling Figures in IPL

Player Overs Bowling Figures Maidens Economy Against Year
Alzarri Joseph 3.4 6/12 1 3.27 SRH 2019
Sohail Tanvir 4 6/14 0 3.50 CSK 2008
Adam Zampa 4 6/19 0 4.75 SRH 2016
Anil Kumble 3.1 5/5 1 1.57 RR 2009
Akash Madhwal 3.3 5/5 0 1.42 LSG 2023
Jasprit Bumrah 4 5/10  1  2.5 KKR 2022
Mohit Sharma  2.2 5/10 0 4.28 MI 2023

*Last updated on 13th January 2024

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store