BBL Winners List | List of BBL Winners & Runners From 2011 to 2021

Big Bash League Winners List From 2011 to Present

Sidney Sixers and Perth Scorchers are the two most successful teams in BBL having won the title three times each.

Sydney Sixers
Sydney Sixers. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

T20 cricket has grown manifolds in the last few years. The growth can be attributed to the presence of a number of T20 leagues around the World. The IPL, BBL and CPL are among the most popular leagues right now. The Big Bash League is the T20 league which is held in Australia every year since 2011. It features eight city-based franchises and has gained major attention over the years.

These eight teams are Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder. Out of these eight teams, six have won the title at least once. Sidney Sixers and Perth Scorchers are the two most successful teams having won the title three times each. In this article, we will be listing out winners of the Big Bash League in each edition.

In the very first edition held in 2011-12, Sydney Sixers emerged as the winners. They defeated Perth Scorchers in the final by achieving the required target of 157 runs with seven balls to spare. In the next edition, Brisbane Heat lifted the trophy defeating Perth Scorchers by 34 runs in the final encounter.

After losing twice in the finals for first two fears, Perth Scorchers finally won the title in the 2013-14 season. They retained the title in the next season as well. In 2015-16, Sydney Thunder won their first trophy registering a three-wicket victory over Melbourne Stars in the final. Perth Scorchers again emerged victorious in the 2016-17 season.

Adelaide Strikers won their maiden title in the 2017-18 season as they defeated Hobart Hurricanes by 25 runs in the final match. Next year, it was time for Melbourne Renegades to lift their first title. The winners of the inaugural season Sydney Sixers won their second trophy in 2019-20. Later, they retained their title in Big Bash 2020-21 with a 27-run win over Perth Scorchers in the final game.

BBL Winners List

Year Winner Score Runners-Up Score Result
2020-21 Sydney Sixers 188/6 Perth Scorchers 161/9
Sydney Sixers won by 27 runs
2019-20 Sydney Sixers 116/5 Melbourne Stars 97/6
Sydney Sixers won by 19 runs
2018-19 Melbourne Renegades 145/5 Melbourne Stars 132/7
Melbourne Renegades won by 13 runs
2017-18 Adelaide Strikers 202/2 Hobart Hurricanes 177/5
Adelaide Strikers won by 25 runs
2016-17 Perth Scorchers 144/1 Sydney Sixers 141/9
Perth Scorchers won by 9 wickets
2015-16 Sydney Thunder 181/7 Melbourne Stars 176/9
Sydney Thunder won by 3 wickets
2014-15 Perth Scorchers 148/6 Sydney Sixers 147/5
Perth Scorchers won by 4 wickets
2013-14 Perth Scorchers 191/4 Hobart Hurricanes 152/7
Perth Scorchers won by 39 runs
2012-13 Brisbane Heat 167/5 Perth Scorchers 133/9
Brisbane Heat won by 34 runs
2011-12 Sydney Sixers 158/3 Perth Scorchers 156/8
Sydney Sixers won by 7 wickets