Box Cricket League set to return with season three

It was not just cricket but their off-field stories were also widely covered and followed.

The A team
The A team. (Photo Source: Facebook)

In a trend that has been getting a lot of attention on TV, reality shows have had an edge over soap opera. No matter the concept but the drama they’ve been able to create with the feel of rawness makes it a hit among the audience. In an attempt to tap into the same interest group the Queen of Indian TV Ekta Kapoor launched the Box Cricket League in 2015 where reality TV met cricket.

Television actors competed in an indoor cricket format and the league is set to return for the third season after struggling with TRPs and managing a preferred airtime. It was previously telecast on Colors TV but the channel wasn’t quite willing to air it considering the low viewership and returns.


Popular TV stars feature in the league

In the previous editions, some of the most loved names on Indian TV actors Divyanka Tripathi, Sara Khan, Shaheer Sheikh, Anita Hassanandani, Karan Patel, Shabbir Ahluwalia, Aly Goni, Erica Fernandes, Kamya Punjabi, Kishwer Merchantt, Karan Wahi, Rithvik Dhanjani, Ssharad Malhotra, among others participated in the league.

It was not just cricket but their off-field stories were also widely covered and followed. Initially the makers were curious to host the show sometime around March 2017 but because of troubles they’ve had with the sponsors for the league along with creative disputes it was pushed to May but things didn’t settle down as smoothly as they were expected to and after being rescheduled to August it is now reported that the competition will be on TV in January next year.

Since Colors was reluctant to give them air-time and a good slot for telecast reported that the Box Cricket League eventually went to SAB TV with the idea and it seems that the channel is all set to be the home for the tournament in the upcoming edition.

In the second season, the participating teams were: Chandigarh Cubs, Pune Anmol Ratan, Chennai Swaggers, Delhi Dragons, Mumbai Tigers, Jaipur Raj Joshiley, Ahmedabad Express, Lucknow Nawabs, Rowdy Bangalore, Kolkata Babumoshai.