BPL Winners List from 2012 to 2024

Shakib Al Hasan was the Player of the Tournament in the first season of the BPL.

View : 18.4K

12 Min Read

BPL Winners List from 2012 to 2024
Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). (Photo Source: Twitter)

Bangladesh Premier League is the professional T20 league played in Bangladesh consisting of seven franchises. It is one of three professional leagues played in the country. In a regular season, the top four teams advance to the playoffs, and then the qualifier games are played. The league was first started in 2012 and has been going on since then. In this article, we will be listing out winners of each season of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).


In the very first season, Dhaka Gladiators emerged as the champions with a win against Barisal Burners in the final. They chased down the required total of 141 runs in 15.4 overs, winning the match by 8 wickets. Shakib Al Hasan was the player of the tournament in the first season with six teams featuring in the league.


In the second season, seven teams took part and the Dhaka team retained their trophy. Dhaka Gladiators posted a total of 172/9 batting first in the final. In the chase, Chittagong Kings were dismissed for only 129 runs losing the match by 43 runs. Shakib Al Hasan was again the player of the tournament in this edition.


In the 2015 season, Comilla Victorians won their maiden title with 6 teams taking part in the league. They defeated Barisal Bulls by 3 wickets in the last-ball finish. Ashar Zaidi won the player of the tournament in the third season.


In the fourth season, Dhaka Dynamites won the trophy with a 56-run win over Rajshahi Kings in the final. Mahmudullah Riyad of Khulna Titans was chosen as the player of the tournament.


In the 2017 season, Rangpur Riders posted a big total of 206/1 batting first in the final. In response, Dhaka Dynamites could manage a score of only 149/9 losing the match by 57 runs. Chris Gayle from the winning team won the player of the tournament award.


In the sixth season of BPL, Comilla Victorians became the champions for the second time. They registered a 17-run victory over Dhaka Dynamites who scored 182/9 in chase of 200 runs. Shakib Al Hasan was the player of the tournament this season.


In the 2020 season, Rajshahi Royals won their maiden title. They scored 170/4 batting first in the final and restricted Khulna Tigers to 149/8 in the chase. Andre Russell of Rajshahi Royals was the player of the tournament in this edition.


Comilla Victorians won the tournament in the 2021 edition as they emerged victorious in a cliffhanger against Fortune Barishal. Shakib Al Hasan was adjudged the Player of the Tournament as he scored 284 runs and also snared 16 scalps for his team Fortune Barishal and led them by example.


The Imrul Kayes-led Comilla Victorians defeated Sylhet Strikers in the final match of the BPL 2023 to claim the silverware. After winning the toss, the Imrul Kayes-led side elected to field first as Strikers put up 175 runs on the board. In reply, Victorians won the game in the last over by seven wickets and four balls to spare.


Tamim Iqbal-led Fortune Barishal won their maiden BPL title by beating three-time champions Comilla Victorians in the final. Barishal finished on the third spot on the points table with seven wins from 12 games and sealed a spot in the final after winning Eliminator and Qualifier 2.  In the big final, captain Tamim Iqbal (39 off 26) and Kyle Mayers (46 off 30) guided their team to a six wicket win chasing a target of 155.

BPL Winners & Runners List

Year Winner Score Runners Up Score Result
2024 Fortune Barishal 157/4 Comilla Victorians 154/6 Fortune Barsihal won by 6 wickets
2023 Comilla Victorians 176/3 Sylhet Strikers 175/7 Comilla Victorians won by seven wickets
2022 Comilla Victorians 151/9 Fortune Barishal 150/8 Comilla Victorians won by 1 run
2020 Rajshahi Royals 170/4 Khulna Tigers 149/8 Rajshahi Royals won by 21 runs
2019 Comilla Victorians 199/3 Dhaka Dynamites 182/9 Comilla Victorians won by 17 runs
2017 Rangpur Riders 206/1 Dhaka Dynamites 149/9 Rangpur Riders won by 57 runs
2016 Dhaka Dynamites 159/9 Rajshahi Kings 103 Dhaka Dynamites won by 56 runs
2015 Comilla Victorians 157/7 Barisal Bulls 156/4 Comilla Victorians won by 3 wickets
2013 Dhaka Gladiators 172/9 Chittagong Kings 129 Dhaka Gladiators won by 43 runs
2012 Dhaka Gladiators 144/2 Barisal Burners 140/7 Dhaka Gladiators won by 8 wickets

Most Titles Wins in IPL

Winner Victories Winner Year
Dhaka Dominators 3 2012, 2013 & 2016
Comilla Victorians 4 2015, 2019 & 2022, 2023
Rangpur Riders 1 2017
Rajshahi Royals 1 2020
Fortune Barishal 1 2024

*Last updated on 1st March 2024

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store