Brad Hogg names his all-time IPL XI

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been named as the captain of the side.

Brad Hogg News
Brad Hogg. (Photo by Morne DeKlerk – CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

In recent times, we have seen many cricketers try their hand at selecting the all-time XI of any competition. Many retired cricketers like former Australian captain Ricky Ponting and former Indian fast bowler Ajit Agarkar have named their best XI in the Indian Premier League (IPL) so far. Now, it is time for the Australian left-arm chinaman spinner Brad Hogg to name his all-time IPL XI.

Rising Pune Supergiant will take on Mumbai Indians at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday for the final of the tenth edition of IPL. With many cricketers performing well over the span of ten years, it is hard to pick an eleven which will not disappoint any fan.


Brad Hogg’s all-time IPL XI

He has opted for a destructive right hand-left hand opening pair. He has selected IPL-winning captain David Warner in his side. Country-mate Warner was in terrific form for the defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad. Virender Sehwag has found himself a place in Hogg’s lineup. Hoggy wants Sehwag to be the partner of Warner.

Virat Kohli is one of the most consistent performers. The Indian captain is a must have in any team at the moment. Suresh Raina and IPL are synonymous. Cometh the IPL, cometh Suresh Raina. Talking about consistent overseas stars, the name of Mr.360° comes first in mind. South African talisman batsman AB de Villiers has set the grand stage ablaze. AB was not on song this season and the entire Royal Challengers Bangalore’s middle order collapsed. It shows the grip and control he has over the game.

Hoggy has handed over the responsibility of captaincy to Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Dhoni is one of the most successful Indian captains. He has won two-IPLs for Chennai Super Kings. Dhoni may not be the captain of any franchise now, but Hogg feels it would be unfair to select any other captain.

Caribbean maestro Dwayne Bravo is one of the most influential cricketers in the He is a consistent performer both with the bat and ball, and spot-on in the field.

Bravo’s country-mate Sunil Narine set the IPL ablaze a few years ago with his bowling. He was regarded as a mystery spinner as he was able to turn the ball both ways without changing his action much. He is not as impactful with his remodelled bowling action but has set the stage ablaze this year with his batting, as he reached 50 in just 15 balls which is the fastest in this year’s IPL.

Ravichandran Ashwin has been a silent performer for CSK. He was there to deliver whenever skipper MS Dhoni needed him. He was instrumental in CSK’s 2 title triumphs and finds a spot in Hogg’s IPL all-time XI.

Former Indian left-arm fast bowler Zaheer Khan is the frontline pacer. Zaheer at his best was one of the most cunning bowlers in the tournament. Even when he is reaching dusk of his career, he is bowling superbly and captaining his side Delhi Daredevils. Hogg feels Zaheer deserves a place in the XI.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar is another silent killer of IPL. He has won the purple cap last year and is on the verge of winning it this year as well with 26 wickets. Hogg selected the current Indian bowler to partner the veteran Zak.

Brad Hogg’s all-time IPL XI:

Virender Sehwag, David Warner, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (C & Wk), Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Zaheer Khan.