CAB name Bengal squad for warm up games, Pragyan Ojha goes missing

They will play one four-day and another three-day match in Surat.

Pragyan Ojha facts
Pragyan Ojha. (© PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP/Getty Images)

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) announced the 17-member squad for Bengal team ahead of their warm-up tour of Gujarat. Team Bengal is scheduled to play two warm-up games in Gujarat ahead of the grueling domestic season of 2017-18. When the squad was announced, all ears were alert to hear about Pragyan Ojha.

The out-of-favor team India spinner has been playing for Bengal since the last two seasons in the domestic circuit. However, things have not been on the sweet note between him and the CAB. Also, it has been reported that Pragyan Ojha failed to gel up with the players in the Bengal camp. He has been pondering a move back to his native team of Hyderabad.


Now, when the squad for the Bengal team was announced, the relations between Ojha and CAB seem to have worsened. As per the reports in Sportskeeda, CAB ‘failed to establish’ contact with Pragyan Ojha. Earlier, the CAB top officials had conceded that they will not let Ojha move out of the Bengal roster. Ojha wishes to move back to Hyderabad but the Bengal board if not issuing the NOC to him.

Talking about the warm-up tour, the CAB decided to name a 17-member squad. When asked about Ojha’s ouster, CAB joint secretary Avishek Dalmiya quoted: “We have not yet established any contact with him, so we are forced to name the squad without him.”

The tour will commence of September 17. They will play one four-day and another three-day match in Surat. Sreevats Goswami, who featured in India Board President XI warm-up game against Australia, will be leading the team.

Bengal Squad:

Shreevats Goswami (c), Anustup Majumder, Koushik Ghosh, Purab Joshi, Abhishek Raman, Abhishek Mitra, Agniv Pan, Writtick Chatterjee, Aamir Gani, Pradipta Pramanik, Aritra Chatterjee, B Amit, Sayan Ghosh, Ishan Porel, Kanishk Seth, Mukesh Kumar and Sourav Mondal.