CPL 2020: Final, Trinbago Knight Riders vs St Lucia Zouks – TKR's unbeaten run, Simmons' record knock, Pollard's 4-fer and more stats

CPL 2020: Final, Trinbago Knight Riders vs St Lucia Zouks – TKR’s unbeaten run, Simmons’ record knock, Pollard’s 4-fer and more stats

Here are all the statistical highlights from a convincing win for the Trinbago Knight Riders in the final.

Trinbago Knight Riders
Trinbago Knight Riders. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Trinbago Knight Riders ensured they didn’t let the efforts put in the league phase go in vain as they cruised to an 8-wicket win against the St Lucia Zouks in the final. The St Lucia team began aggressively as they reached 77/1 in 9th over before losing their last nine wickets for 77 in the space of 63 balls. Chasing 155 to win the title, the TKR team got off to a slow start due to the struggles of Darren Bravo. They needed 96 runs from the last ten overs but needed only 8.1 more overs to chase it down. Lendl Simmons smashed a 49-ball 84 while Bravo scored 58 off 47 during their unbeaten 138-run partnership.

Here are all the statistical highlights from a convincing win for the Trinbago Knight Riders in the final:

Trinidad’s 100% record:

2 – Trinbago Knight Riders became only the 2nd team to have 100% win record during a T20 tournament where they played ten or more matches. Karnataka also won all the 12 matches they played during the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in 2018-19 season.

4/4 – The Trinidad franchise has won on all the four instances where they qualified for the final in the Caribbean Premier League (2015, 2017, 2018 and 2020). They have four CPL titles while the Jamaica Tallawahs and Barbados Tridents won two each.

TKR’s record streaks:

12 – Trinbago Knight Riders now hold the record for the longest winning streak in the history of CPL. They went past the 11-match streak of Guyana Amazon Warriors which was recorded in the 2019 edition. This 12-match streak of Knight Riders includes nine victories at the Brian Lara Cricket Stadium.

11 – Trinidad franchise extended their unbeaten streak against the St Lucia franchise in the CPL to 11 matches. The TKR team won as many as ten matches during this streak while another game ended in a washout.

13 – Trinbago Knight Riders have won as many as 13 CPL matches against St Lucia Zouks; the most number of CPL wins for any team against an opponent. Out of the 17 meetings between the two teams, the St Lucia franchise won just two matches while another two ended without a result.

Pollard matches Kumble:

2 – Kieron Pollard became only the 2nd captain to pick a 4-wicket haul during the final of a franchise-based T20 League. Anil Kumble, while leading RCB, took 4/16 against Deccan Chargers in the 2009 IPL final.

4/30 – Pollard is also only the 2nd player in the CPL history to pick a 4-wicket haul in the final match. Raymon Reifer took 4/24 for the Barbados Tridents in the 2019 edition against the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Simmons surpasses Gayle:

2436 – Lendl Simmons became the leading run-getter of the Caribbean Premier League by surpassing Chris Gayle’s tally of 2354 runs. Simmons, in the semi-final, went past Gayle’s record 17 50+ scores.

7010 – Simmons completed 7000 runs in the Twenty20 format when he went past his individual score of 74. He is now the 4th player from the West Indies to aggregate 7000+ runs in T20 cricket.

A big final knock for Simmons:

84* – The unbeaten 84-run knock by Lendl Simmons is now the highest individual score ever recorded in a CPL final. The previous highest was 68* by Colin Munro also for the Trinbago Knight Riders during the 2018 final against the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

A record partnership to finish the chase:

138* – The unbeaten partnership of 138 between Darren Bravo and Lendl Simmons is now the highest for 3rd wicket in the CPL history. The previous highest CPL stand for the 3rd wicket was of 114* between Rovman Powell and Ross Taylor for Jamaica Tallawahs against Guyana Amazon Warriors in the 2018 edition. The pair of Martin Guptill and Denesh Ramdin also put on 114 for the 3rd wicket in 2014 season for Guyana against Antigua Hawksbills.

Fletcher and Kuggeleijn end on high:

15 – Andre Fletcher ended the tournament with 15 dismissals as a keeper which are the 2nd most number of dismissals made by a wicket-keeper during an edition of CPL. Kumar Sangakkara leads the list with 16 dismissals coming during the 2016 edition while representing Jamaica Tallawahs.

17 – Scott Kuggeleijn’s 17 wickets in the 2020 CPL are the 2nd most for any overseas pacer in an edition of CPL. Sohail Tanvir claimed 20 and 17 wickets during the 2016 and 2017 seasons respectively; both for the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Injury puts Bravo away from bowling:

1 – Dwayne Bravo did not bowl even one ball for the first time in his 79-match career in the Caribbean Premier League. Bravo bowled at least one over in all his previous 78 matches in the CPL.