IPL: Here is how Chennai Super Kings have fared in playoffs over the years

Chennai Super Kings have won the IPL four times and qualified for the playoffs 12 times.

View : 17.3K

3 Min Read

Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings. (Photo Source: IPL)

With the 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 rapidly approaching its playoff stage, the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings have once again made it to the knockout stages. Finishing in second place in the IPL points table, Chennai made it to the playoffs with 17 points in 14 matches.

Ever since the tournament’s advent in 2008, Chennai have been one of the most consistent sides in the competition. Continuing upon the same, let us have a look at how Chennai have fared in the IPL playoffs over the years.

1. IPL 2008 (Runners-up)

Chennai finished in third place in the standings in 2008. Wrapping up eight wins in 14 league matches, Chennai made it to the playoffs but lost the final to Rajasthan Royals.

2. IPL 2009 (Fourth)

Finishing second in the table, Chennai looked to clinch their dream of becoming IPL champions. However, they lost the semis and finished fourth.

3. IPL 2010 (Champions)

Finishing third in the table with 14 points in 14 matches, Chennai won their maiden IPL title after defeating Mumbai Indians in the final.

4. IPL 2011 (Champions) 

Making their way into the playoffs for the fourth consecutive time, Chennai won the title in 2011 once again after defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore.

5. IPL 2012 (Runners-up) 

Making it to the playoffs once again, Chennai finished fourth in the standings and lost the summit clash against Kolkata Knight Riders.

6. IPL 2013 (Runners-up) 

Finishing first in the standings with 22 points, Chennai made their way into the Qualifiers once again, defeated Mumbai in the playoffs, but lost to them in the finals.

7. IPL 2014 (Third)

Finishing third in the IPL points table with 18 points, Chennai made it to the playoffs. However, they failed to capitalize in the Qualifiers and fell prey to Punjab in the second qualifier, finishing third.

8. IPL 2015 (Runners-up) 

Making their way into the playoffs after finishing atop the standings, Chennai defeated Bangalore in the second Qualifier but lost the finals again to arch-rival Mumbai Indians.

9. IPL 2016, 17 (Suspended)

10. IPL 2018 (Champions)

Coming into the tournament after being suspended for two years, Chennai made a comeback for the ages. Making it to the playoffs, Chennai defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Qualifier and in the final to clinch the title.

11. IPL 2019 (Runners-up)

Finishing second in the standings with 18 points, Chennai made it to the playoffs. However, they faced defeat against Mumbai Indians in the Qualifiers and the final as well.

12. IPL 2020 (seventh)

Chennai Super Kings did not qualify for the playoffs in the IPL 2020 for the first time in history. The side finished in seventh place in the standings with 12 points in 14 matches. 

13. IPL 2021 (Champions) 

After a horrific season in 2020, Chennai made a perfect comeback in 2021. Finishing second in the standings with 18 points. They defeated Kolkata Knight Riders in the final to win their fourth title.

14. IPL 2022 (Ninth)

Coming in as defending champions, Chennai suffered a second terrible season in 2022. They finished ninth in the standings and missed out on the playoffs. 

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store